Weekly Recap (Kathleen)

Monday, October 6th: Rest Day

Tuesday, October 7th: 45 minute run (4.28 miles—10:31 pace on treadmill)

Wednesday, October 8th: Rest Day

Thursday, October 9th: 3 mile run (10:28 pace on treadmill)

Friday, October 10th: Rest day

Saturday, October 11th: Rest day

Sunday, October 12th: Rest day

Good thing this was a cut-back week because I only got in 2 of my 3 scheduled runs.  I did my other scheduled run last night, so I’m still on schedule.

The big reason I couldn’t get my run in on the weekend was it was the Chicago Marathon weekend!  My friend Brandon came in from Washington DC for the race and another friend Huyen and her fiancé were also running in the race, so I wanted to spend time with them too.  Have I mentioned that my new job makes weekends like this possible?!  At my old job, guaranteed, I would have had to work at least 1 if not 2 days of the weekend and I would not have been able to spend any time with them.  Another reason, I absolutely love my new job!!

On Saturday, Brandon and I woke up early to hit up the Chicago Marathon Expo by 9 am.  We got there in no time and I was excited to take it all in!!

welcome

After Brandon checked in, we were off to see the vendors!!  One of our first stops was the RunDisney booth where I got to see all the marathon medals and I held the Dopey medal!!

dopey

I really wanted to sign up for the Hot Chocolate 15k this year because of the sweet medal that they are giving away J.  No deals at the expo (ugh!), but I’m at least all signed up and ready to go now!

hotchocolate

I was also excited to chat with some of the upcoming races, I’m signed up for or thinking about signing up for.

 

First was Austin.  I am already signed up to run the Austin Half Marathon in February.  They told me they just saw the first sketch of the new medal the night before and that it will be pretty cool… yippy!!

austin

Then I knew I wanted to see the Flying Pig Medal.  I had seen the medals online but I wanted to see if the full marathon medal was all I thought it was online.  And it was… oh no… it looks like I may be signing up for the full.  I’ll make the final decision after Dopey.

flyingpig

I’m also super interested in the Gasparilla Distance Challenge at some point in time.  The medal for 2015 was super cute!!

 

Besides checking out races (I also chatted up with Grandma’s Marathon (the plan is 2016 for the 40thanniversary with Lauren)  and Little Rock Marathon (remembered the “epic” race last year with one of the directors), I also purchased a fuel belt (I used Lauren’s a few weeks ago and really liked it), a subscription to Runners World (always wanted to get it and it was only $15 for the whole year) and I ate lots of free samples of gummies, drinks, and kashi.  I never had kashi before, but I really liked it!!  I will definitely be investing in this healthy breakfast/snack soon!

kashi

The expo was definitely super fun for me!!  Even though I wasn’t running, I still had a great time.  Do I see the Chicago Marathon in my future?  Yes, absolutely.  The energy was amazing and thrilling.  Do I see myself doing the Chicago Marathon in 2015?  Probably not.  I have a couple of half marathons that I’m interested in doing in the fall of 2015.  Now, if I could find a half a few weeks prior to Chicago…haha… oh goodness.

 

My name is Kathleen and I’m addicted to running and more importantly medals 🙂

3 thoughts on “Weekly Recap (Kathleen)

  1. Glad you had fun at the expo and that it planted the seed to possibly one day run the Chicago Marathon. As for Little Rock? I want to do the marathon just for the medal. I’ve done the half and that was cool.

  2. At least you’re admitting your addiction. That’s the first step. 🙂

  3. I love that you had the opportunity to scope out the medals at the expo 🙂

Leave a comment