Fractured :-/

Hello Again!

Well it’s been a bumpy couple of weeks and today was probably the worst of them all…but I’ll get back to that.

Three weeks ago, I was on a routine early morning run. I was in the park across the street where I run pretty much all the time and know very well. It was early (6:30AM), but the sun was out and there was light rain. My run was going really well, so I decided I would do 5 miles instead of 3. To do the 5 miler, I had to run across the cross-walk to the other side of the park. I looked both ways and saw no cars so I thought I was free to go! While I was running, I quickly peered to my left and realized this car I had not seen before was coming very close to me…too close…and then BAM! He hit me! I got knocked over and was probably the most scared I have ever been! The police and ambulance came, and I am very lucky that I had nothing really but sore muscles, a minor concussion, and a few scratches.

But today I was not as lucky :(. My foot has been causing me pain for quite some time. At the beginning, I thought it was normal and a result of all my running and cross training. But a few weeks ago, I just realized I couldn’t live like this forever. I would wake up in the morning and limp around because I could not put all my weight on my foot, and it continued to be painful throughout the day. I set up an appointment with the podiatrist for this morning. When I got there, they took about 7 x-rays and confirmed my fears…I have a stress fracture in my right foot. Unfortunately with stress fractures there isn’t much you can do (unless you have surgery) but rest and wait. So this means I can’t run for AT LEAST 4 weeks. UGH! I am so frustrated but know that if I didn’t go to the doctor it would only continue to get worse and cause a complete break. I am hoping in 4 weeks when I go back everything will be healed but who knows. I will keep you all updated! If you could please let me know if you have ever had a stress fracture and what you had to go through, I would appreciate it very much!

Lauren

2 thoughts on “Fractured :-/

  1. OMG!!!! I’m SO sorry this happened, how terrifying! Being hit by a car is a fear we ALL have! So glad you’re okay, though!

    As far as the stress fracture, that stinks! But you definitely did the right thing in going to get it checked out, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that you’ll be back on your feet in 4 weeks. Wishing you a speedy recovery!

  2. Wow, so sorry to hear that happened to you. I’ve had to be extra careful on my runs because drivers don’t see me (one time I was hit almost 3 times). Hope you get better soon!!

Leave a Reply

