Weekly Recap

weeklykathleen

Sorry for only 1 blog post this past week!!  Unfortunately, it seems like a theme for us Benson sisters this summer L.  Seriously, between running an outdoor pool, doing my other work responsibilities, and training for the Chicago Marathon… I barely have time for anything else.

This past week, we started up our final set of evening swim lessons (I had three twelve hour workdays) and then I had to work at a triathlon at work (3:15 am wake up call on Sunday!). I commend anyone who does triathlons… swimming and biking just aren’t for me.

It was also a hectic week in training.  I had my normal runs during the week, but then on Saturday, I had a 17 mile run.  Of course, the forecast for this past weekend was miserable.  Heat advisories and the temperatures in the 90s.  Even if I got out early, it was 78 at 6 am—just awful.  So, I had to suck it up and do the mileage on the treadmill.  It’s never easy doing that many miles on the treadmill… especially when work keeps texting you and your phone only tracks so long (so I had to keep recharging my battery).  But I finished and I’m really hoping that we get some sort of relief in a few weeks when I start having my twenty milers start up!

I’m really looking forward to Saturday as it will be the first time that I get to meet up with the Chicago Marathon group that I won the entry to the marathon with.  This is really exciting to finally meet up with the 9 other people who also won the contest!  Depending on the time, I’m hoping that I’ll be able to make my first stop to Shake Shack in the city.  I’ve been to Shake Shack in NYC and DC, but I haven’t been able to make it to the Chicago location yet.  Hopefully that works out!

Have a great running week!

Kathleen

One thought on “Weekly Recap

  1. Can’t believe that you are doing 17 miles already!!! I am only at 12 miles, would not want to be doing those miles outside either. I only was able to do 8 of my miles outside, had to do the rest on the indoor track.

    You should try a tri!!! I bet at one point you would have said that running wasn’t for you either, lol. I could help you train for it :).

Leave a Reply

