Weekly Recap

weeklykathleen

It was a hectic week as usual!  After last weekend getting to visit with Lauren, I had a busy week running and working.  This past week, I ran two 30 minute runs during the week and a 15 miler on the 4th of July!  The 15 miler was tough… I won’t lie!

The last two marathon cycles have been training in the winter months… I looked at my last 15 miler that I did while training for the Flying Pig and the temperature was 25 degrees!  Training during the summer is a different story.  I had to keep reminding myself of the quote I had heard all week “summer runners make fall marathoners”.  I had to wake up crazy early (5 am—that is very early for me), so I could beat the heat.  It was 60 degrees at the start but 90% humidity and by the end of the run it was 72 degrees.  I had to switch up my intervals a bit—walking and drinking water a bit more than normal.  I have a 17 miler in 2 weeks… I’m hoping for a cold front to come thru!

The one thing I am really enjoying is the fact that these “long long” runs do not come with a “long walk/run” the day beforehand.  When I did the Disney and the Flying Pig Marathon… the day beforehand, I did a half marathon the day beforehand!  Well, I had to train for doing that.  So the day before a “long long” run, I would have to do a “long walk/run” the day beforehand.  Before my previous two fifteen mile training runs, I did 7.5 miles the day beforehand.  It was so nice this time just to focus on the one long day!

Besides running, it was a busy week at work.  2 of my first 3 swim lesson sessions ended and then I ended up working on Friday and Saturday.  I was supposed to have Friday off, but since I didn’t have any plans, I decided to work and save the day for when I go to Disneyland!  That’s when I will really need the time off.

On a side note, I was getting fed up with my cable/internet service.  I have 2 boxes, HD, DVR, internet and basic cable including Showtime (I love Homeland, The Affair and the now cancelled Nurse Jackie) and I paid $185 a month!  That is just ridiculous in my book!  So, I called and explained that I was going to switch unless they lowered my bill.  They ended up lowering my bill $25 a month ($300 a year—that could be a flight to a new race for me!) and now I have HBO and all the other movie channels as well… this could be dangerous.  I’ve already watched 5 movies in the short few days I’ve gotten it.   So if you think you’re paying too much for your tv services, call your provider and maybe you’ll luck out like I did!

Have a great running week all!

Kathleen

One thought on “Weekly Recap

  1. Yikes! That is a lot of money for cable. I refuse to pay for cable so I just stick to my local channels. 🙂

Leave a Reply

