Weekly Recap

weeklylauren

Monday, May 11th: Rest Day

Tuesday, May 12th: 3.11 miles running

Wednesday, May 13th: 2.5 miles running

Thursday, May 14th: Rest Day

Friday, May 15th: Rest Day

Saturday, May 16th: Rest Day

Sunday, May 17th: .5 mile warmup + Make Tracks for the Zoo 5K

So this week ended up very different from what I thought it would be. I started off the week a bit sore from the half marathon last Saturday, but it was nothing unusual and I didn’t really think anything of it. I ran a few miles again on Tuesday and felt alright, but on Wednesday the pain started :(. I was supposed to run 5 miles, but after about 2.5 I stopped because I was experiencing sharp pains in my left hamstring. My hamstrings have obviously been sore before, but this was different. I felt a pain and then it felt like if I tried to run through it, something might snap!

I took the day off Thursday and Friday, and tested it again on Saturday. I still had the same feeling, so I was pretty certain there was no way I could run the 5K on Sunday. I wasn’t going to go down easy though, so I iced, compressed, stretched, and rolled practically all day Saturday hoping something would work! I went to bed feeling about 90% that I would NOT be running on Sunday.

But, on Sunday I woke up and went on a quick run to figure out whether or not I should race that day. To my AMAZEMENT, I did NOT feel the sharp pain and while my hamstring was a little tender it was not worrying me as much. So, I decided that I would not be going for a PR at the 5K, but I definitely WOULD be running!

I’ll talk about the race later this week or next, but I am very happy that I ended up running it. Even though it wasn’t my best time, I really was so thrilled that I was able to run and I’m assuming that my hamstring isn’t as awful as I thought it was. I was really at a low point on Saturday, freaked out that I wouldn’t be able to run for a while, but I ended up probably being a little dramatic 🙂

This week, I am going to continue to ice and stretch my hamstring and maybe not push myself as hard during my training runs. I definitely have learned how important it is to properly warm up before and stretch out after EVERY run, and I will confess that I was definitely NOT doing this which probably led to my sore hamstring.

I hope everyone has a GREAT and HEALTHY week!

Lauren

2 thoughts on “Weekly Recap

  1. The hamstring thing sounds scary, I probably would have overreacted too. I’m glad it’s better and that you were able to run the 5k!

  2. Sorry to hear about your hamstring but great that you were able to run your 5k on Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

