Weekly Recap

weeklykathleen

Monday, April 27th: Rest Day

Tuesday, April 28th: 4.32 miles outside (10:25 pace)

Wednesday, April 29th: 4.37 miles outside (10:18 pace)

Thursday, April 30th: Rest Day

Friday, May 1st: Rest Day

Saturday, May 2nd:  OneAmerica 500 Festival Mini-Marathon (2:44:00 (12:31 pace))

Sunday, May 3rd: Flying Pig Marathon (5:03:25 (11:35 pace))

And with that, my crazy Midwest Goofy Challenge is complete!  It wasn’t easy, especially when I woke up with a horrible back pain the day of the 5k of the Illinois Marathon weekend.  I didn’t mention it here because I didn’t want to worry about it too much and I thought it would go away.

I was very nervous with my 39.3 miles and I knew that they’d have to drag me across the finish line on Sunday if my back was killing me.  I had a chiropractor appointment on Monday and even though he cracked my back, my hips and then gave me acupuncture, I didn’t feel much relief L.  As you can see, my training runs with a bad back were still going well—I was shocked!  I tried to ignore it and shockingly I woke up on Friday May 1st and my back felt good as new!!  What?!  It was perfect timing… AMEN!

I’ll recap the expos on Thursday and the races next week… it was quite a great experience!  And now I’m a bit sad it’s all over :(.  I loved the entire experience even though I can barely walk right now… this should be a fun half marathon in Kansas on Saturday with Lauren 🙂

Kathleen

One thought on “Weekly Recap

  1. Congrats!!! Can’t wait to read about it!

Leave a Reply

