Mini I Challenge Weekend

illinois marathon

Well, the 3 weeks of running fun have started!

Today, I’m working until about noon and then I’m off with my friends to Urbana-Champaign for the Illinois Marathon Weekend.  I graduated from the University of Illinois in May 2008, but I have only made a handful of trips back to my college town since then L.  Once my sister and I became runners, we heard about the Illinois Marathon Weekend.  We had briefly discussed going in 2014, but it was the same weekend as the Nike Women’s DC Half (looking back, I’m so glad we did DC because now it’s no longer around!).  This year, we never really discussed going but my two best friends from college who are not runners were talking about going and wanted to see if I wanted to go with them.

I was already signed up for the Indy Mini the following week and seriously considering running the Flying Pig Full, so there was no way I’d be able to run the half marathon.  But my training program called for a long run of 7 miles that weekend if I did the half-full the following weekend.  I decided it was meant to be for me to do the 5k with one friend and the 10k with the other friend.  I’d only need to run an extra .8 miles to get in my 7 miles on Saturday.  And I would get the Mini I Challenge medal (5k on Friday and 10k on Saturday)… so i’ll be going home with 3 medals 🙂

There are no time goals in mind as I’m doing these races to encourage my friends to embrace the sport that I already love!  I’d love to come back at some point to run the half with Lauren…maybe for the 10 year anniversary in a few years!

I’ll be back next week with a recap of the weekend!

Kathleen

2 thoughts on “Mini I Challenge Weekend

  1. Can’t wait to read your recap. I ran the marathon relay.

  2. Ooh fun…so many challenges now 🙂

Leave a Reply

