Another Race Weekend!

unnamed-36

I will not have an opportunity to do a post on Friday, so I wanted to take a moment today to preview my 13th half marathon which will be happening on Saturday morning!

This one is called the Oak Barrel Half in Lynchburg, TN and race registration opened in October and sold out within a day.  The price was incredibly reasonable—around $55.  The swag is great, medal is made out of a jack daniels barrel and it looks like it has great small town charm.

Since I PRed big at Shamrock, ran 20 miles on Sunday, and have another 20 miler scheduled for next Sunday… I’m not planning on anything other than having fun!  There is a nasty hill called Whisky Hill on the course which has its own facebook page!

I’ll be flying to Nashville early Friday morning, I’ve got a car to get to Lynchburg.  The plan is to take a tour of the Jack Daniels factory (that’s what Lynchburg is known for), pick up my packet for the race, eat a good lunch/dinner, and then spend the rest of the afternoon at the hotel pool relaxing.

After the race on Saturday (it starts at 8am),  I’m planning on heading back to Nashville and hopefully taking a tour of the Grand Ole Opry.  I’d love to check out the Bluebird Café (a staple on the tv show Nashville that I love) but it’s not open for lunch.  My flight heads back to Chicago around 3:30 and then it’s back to my hometown for Easter with the family and finally getting my dog back!  It’s been far too long without her—almost a month!  I’ve been super busy at work and running, so I really didn’t have a whole lot of time to care for her.  I’ll still be busy but not as bad as March!

I’ll check back in next week with a full recap of the weekend!

Kathleen

2 thoughts on “Another Race Weekend!

  1. Ohhh too bad Bluebird Cafe will be closed – I am going to the Nashville Tour in DC haha 🙂 Good luck this weekend!

  2. I want to do this race so bad!! It’s on my Bucket List :). Have fun!!!

Leave a Reply

