Goals for Run the Bluegrass Half Marathon

RunTheBluegrass+2015+Logo+Maroon+and+SS+Gold+with+Johns+RWS+no+tagline

This Saturday, I will be in Lexington, Kentucky running in the Run the Bluegrass Half Marathon. Justin and I will be driving down Friday to go to the Expo, so I figured I better post my goals now because I probably won’t have time on Friday.

Kathleen originally had signed up to run in this race. But, when she got her new job last year she found out she had a work conflict this weekend, so she was luckily able to transfer her registration to me, for just $10. Most races you would just end up losing your registration fee, so we were very fortunate to be able to switch the registration over to me.

I have been SO impressed with everything leading up to the race. The race director is amazing. He is constantly giving us updates on Facebook and Twitter and he is very helpful with any questions you might have about the race. For instance, we were supposed to be getting Nike shirts for the race, but the shipping got all messed up, so instead of just getting some cheap race shirt, we will now be getting race hoodies! We have gotten so many emails leading up to the race, and the race even has an app! Another amazing feature of this race is the pictures. We get free pictures instantly posted to our Facebook wall, but after the race we will be able to purchase all our photos for only $10!! You can’t beat that! There are so many fun events available to do race weekend and it is really a total experience, not just a half marathon. I can’t wait to get to Lexington!

It is about a 5 hour drive to Lexington, so Justin and I will be leaving early Friday and should get there around one or so. First we will hit up the Expo, and then after we are going to be going to a bourbon distillery tour, which was a package available through the race. I am really excited for this because of course you have to try out the bourbon while in Kentucky! Then after the tour, we will be going to dinner at a local favorite restaurant and then heading to the hotel and getting ready for race morning. (FYI: Justin will not be running, but will be cheering me on :))

This race is supposed to be the prettiest half marathon in the US, and just by looking at the pictures of the course- I believe it! But while it might be beautiful, it is also going to be quite challenging. Apparently there are endless rolling hills, so it should be a “fun” test…

My main goal for this race is to PR. I try to PR for every race, but for this race in particular I really want to because of the Director’s Challenge. I submitted my current PR to the race director a couple months ago, and if I beat that time then I get a special barrel stave from a local distillery. I want that stave!! My current half marathon PR is 1:53:52, and while it will be a challenge with all the hills, I am feeling confident that I will be able to do at least a little better than that. Ideally I would like to be around 1:50, but…we shall see!

Lauren

7 thoughts on “Goals for Run the Bluegrass Half Marathon

  1. Good luck on the PR. I know you can do it. I always find myself wanting to go out too fast at the beginning so try to avoid that mistake that I have made before. This past weekend, when I PR’ed I stayed with the pace group so if they have groups for you I would try to stick with them to get a PR.

    • Yes, I always do the same thing! I always go out way too fast and then suffer for it later haha. I’m going to try my best not to do that Saturday, because it will be especially hard to bounce back and finish strong with the endless rolling hills. Great idea though to stick with the pace group, I will definitely try to do that.

  2. Good luck with the race! This sounds like a great event. I love the free digital photos and the option to buy for only $10 🙂

    • Thank you Chaitali! Yes, it seems like it is going to be a really great weekend. I couldn’t believe when I got the email about the $10 unlimited photos! And, it’s only $10 to engrave your medal at the finish line, so I will probably end up doing that as well!

  3. I love that you give props to your race director. I was just thinking the same thing about the Delaware Marathon. I have been so impressed by how responsive and attentive the director has been. Should make for a good race!

  4. Good luck!!! This sounds like it’s going to be an awesome race and weekend for you. Have a GREAT race!

  5. Love it when races come with so many neat perks!! Glad you were able to get your sister’s registration. I think that every race should have that option. I hate having to pay for pictures so I never buy them. Plus, I don’t like how I look in them.

Leave a Reply

