Weekly Recap

weeklykathleen

Monday, March 16th: 4.21 miles running OUTSIDE (10:41 pace)

Tuesday, March 17th: Rest day

Wednesday, March 18th: 4.36 miles running OUTSIDE (10:19 pace)

Thursday, March 19th: Rest day

Friday, March 20th: Rest day (Travel to VA Beach/Expo Day)

Saturday, March 21st: Shamrock 8k (58:02 at 11:40 pace)

Sunday, March 22nd: Shamrock Half Marathon (2:09:34 at 9:53 pace)

And just like that, the Shamrock Weekend is over.  I waited so long for it… I had been signed up since October and I made this my big goal race of 2015.

I was very nervous going into this race that I set myself up for failure.  The truth is… I haven’t been running well lately.  It’s been difficult and my paces are just nowhere where I’d like them to be.  I knew that in order to break 2:15 for the half race, I’d need to be at under 10:15 per mile pace.  I haven’t ran that fast in a long while… especially long distances.

Well folks, I DID IT!!  I was coming out fast and I kept up with it the whole way!!  When I realized I was going to “easily” break 2:15 (I was at 11 miles at 1:50 and I knew I’d just need to run 2 miles in 25 minutes—piece of cake 🙂 )… I was so excited.  I knew I’d get to ring the PR bell and I would have my BIG goal for 2015 done.  Now I’m not sure what my goal for 2016 will be…..

shamrockbell

I’ll be back on Wednesday with a full recap of the expo/race/weekend/etc!  I’m probably going to make it like my Dopey recap, so I don’t stretch it on forever.  Especially since I have my next half in 10 days 🙂

Kathleen

3 thoughts on “Weekly Recap

  1. Yay, congrats on the PR! That’s an awesome realization to have at mile 11 🙂

  2. So fun to have met you! Can’t wait for the full recap and how you felt during the half. Congrats on the AMAZING PR!

  3. Congrats on the PR!!

Leave a Reply

