Keeping It Real

I’m going to save the Shamrock fun for Friday!  Because today, I’m going to talk about keeping it real…

I started running in February 2013.  I’ve been doing a training program every week practically since then.  The only time I’ve ever taken a break was in July-August 2013 and that was because it was mandatory as required with my physical therapy.  Once I was cleared to run again, I had to start training for my second half in October 2013 and a half of a half with Lauren the same month as well.

Then I decided to do something I never thought I would do… I signed up for a marathon.  And I didn’t just sign up for a marathon… I signed up for the Dopey Challenge.  I’d be running a 5k, 10k, half and full all in a four day span.  I knew that I’d need to start training in July 2014 for the race in January 2014.  I only did 3 half marathons in that period (for me that’s not very many at all) as I had to focus on the training.

Once I successfully completed that, I knew I wanted to run the Flying Pig full.  I told myself… I did Dopey, so I could do this too… it’s basically just a Goofy (as I’m running a half the day beforehand).

While I’ve gotten in all my runs, I’m getting tired of “goofy” training.  It’s not just 1 long run on the weekend, it’s 2.  It’s not just a few miles during the week—it’s 4.5 miles twice a week.  I know it may not seem like a lot, but when you’re juggling as much as I am at work plus trying to have a life… it gets exhausting.

This week for example—if I wasn’t training for a marathon, I would run 3 miles on Monday and then run 2 miles on Wednesday before my Shamrock weekend.  Instead I’ll be running 9 miles this week.  I know it only sounds like a few extra minutes, but in the grand scheme, it all adds up!  Thank god I don’t have my dog right now because I just don’t have time for her at all.

I’ll finish out this training program as planned and it officially ends on May 9th!  And then I’m going to back off on my running.  I’ll still run, don’t get me wrong, but I won’t be running as much during the week (3-3.5 miles twice a week and a “long” run of 6-7 miles once during the weekend).  I think this is why I love half marathons so much.  It’s not “as much” work.  It’s still work… don’t get me wrong, but it’s not as hard.

But don’t worry, I still love running!  I’m planning on knocking out more states in my quest to run a half in all 50 states… and I’m so excited about Disney in September.  It was the plan to “take a break” during the summer because work gets super hectic, Disney is expensive (so I need to save money), and it’s just too hot!  Depending on if I get into the Chicago Marathon (I’m in the lottery), it will determine my fall schedule.

Kathleen

3 thoughts on “Keeping It Real

  1. I’m doing something similar and taking a “break” from training as well. I don’t need to start really training for Wine and Dine until July. I’m going to do some lower distance runs for now (2-3 miles during the week and 6-7 mile long runs) and try to improve on my speed. I think it will be nice to run without a set training plan or race goal. I have a 10k in June that I’m hoping I can use for proof of time at Disney if my speed improves.

  2. We all deserve a break every now and then. I plan on taking a break after Shamrock, and at this point don’t plan on fully racing Cherry Blossom in April. I’ll pick my full training back up after I give myself at least a couple of weeks off. My brain and body are in need of a break!

  3. Ugh, I feel your pain! I can’t remember the last time I wasn’t in training for a marathon and/or some other kind of Disney race challenge! I can be a LOT to juggle on top of everything else, and, sometimes, your body just needs a break. I tend to scale back quite a bit over the summer, too…WAYYYYYY too hot for me!

Leave a Reply

