And the verdict is…

Well, I waited all day and I was not selected for the New York City Marathon 😦

Even though I couldn’t run it this year (I was planning to defer and pay the registration price twice), I was really hoping I would just get in, so I wouldn’t have to worry about it next year.  Oh well, I guess it wasn’t meant to be!

The good news is that I looked at the calendar and I can definitely do the New York City Marathon in 2016, 2017, 2018, or 2019.  I hope I’ll get lucky one of those years!  Unfortunately, I just do not know enough people to fundraise for these races and I’m not going to get stuck with playing $3,000+ dollars for a charity if I could not fundraise the required amount.

One person that I follow on Twitter was finally accepted into the race on Tuesday after being rejected for four years.  I cannot even imagine!  She deserved getting in way more than me!

I’m really hoping I will be successful for the Chicago Marathon.  I can definitely run it this year!  There are no fancy rules like NYC (NYC selects people who live in NYC, live Internationally and then the rest of the people are from the US—doesn’t really seem right to me) so everyone has an equal shot in Chicago!  I don’t even want to think about if I don’t get into Chicago… as I’m really planning my fall around that!

I’m leaving for Shamrock Half Marathon weekend in 15 days!!  YIPPY!!

Kathleen

4 thoughts on “And the verdict is…

  1. Sorry again that you didn’t get in this time around, but you never know — 2016 could be your year! 🙂 Chicago is definitely next on my list, too…I’d LOVE to run that one. Keeping all of my fingers and toes crossed that you get in! 😀

  2. So sorry that you didn’t get in. On the bright side, I get to see you in 15 days for Shamrock!

  3. Sad that many of my twitter/blogger friends did not get in. I thought I would see at least 1/5 of you get in.. oh well next year!

  4. Bummer on the NY Marathon. Hopefully it works out for the Chicago Marathon.

Leave a Reply

