Upcoming Races

I thought I’d fill you in on a little secret that Lauren and I have been keeping.  We both put our names in for the New York City Marathon!!  We will find out on Tuesday if we made it in!  We both had luck for the Nike Women’s Half Marathon in Washington DC in 2014 but this is a whole different ballgame.  The chances of getting into the NYC Marathon are 1 in 8.  NYC Marathon used to have a rule that if you tried for 3 years in a row to get in, you’d automatically get in on your fourth try, but they took that away starting this year.  Therefore, NYC Marathon is reporting that more people will get in the lottery than before since that rule is gone.  Here is the thing for me though.  I cannot run the race even if I get in for 2015.  My second biggest special event that I run is always on Halloween and this year the NYC Marathon is on November 1st.  So even if I get in, I won’t be able to run it until 2016 (that date is November 7—so no problems!).  But since it is so hard to get in, I figured I needed to at least try this year.  If I get in, I’ll have to cancel and defer to 2016.  Therefore, I’ll have to pay the registration price twice.  But getting the chance to run NYC… priceless!  If Lauren gets in, she can definitely do it this year.

Another lottery that I will be entering is the Chicago Marathon.  If you’re a regular reader of the blog, you know that I live in the suburbs of Chicago—I’m actually about 45 minutes from the city.  I love Chicago, but I’d never live there!  My condo would cost at least triple the price if it had a Chicago zip code.  Last year, I volunteered at the race since a few of my friends were running it and I had extreme runners jealously!  The expo is amazing, crowd support is awesome and the course is pretty flat.  A few of my friends are also going to put their names in for the lottery, so hopefully we will all get in.  Unfortunately Lauren cannot run this race.

A few weeks ago, I drank the Run Disney kool-aid again!  When I signed up for the Dopey Challenge, I knew that if I completed a race at Disneyland as well, I would get a special Coast to Coast medal.  For a girl that loves medals as much as me, I had to have this!  Well, Disneyland has 4 race weekends.  The first one is Star Wars, which happened the weekend after Dopey.  No way was I going to be able to race/afford going to California right after Dopey and I’m not a Star Wars fan, so that was out.  The next race weekend is Tinkerbell.  They switched the date this year putting it on Mother’s Day weekend.  The plan right now is to do Tinkerbell Half Marathon in 2017/2018 combining it with Princess Weekend in Disney World, so we can get the Pink Coast to Coast medal (Lauren and a few other friends will hopefully join us for a girls weekends of doing these races )—so that race was out for 2015.  Avengers Half Marathon is held in November.  While Avengers happens at the best time of year for me, I have zero interest in the Avengers, so it was eliminated as well.  Therefore, the only other option was the Disneyland Half Marathon which is held on Labor Day weekend.  Unfortunately, I run an outdoor pool that is open Labor Day weekend.  Therefore, I had to work my magic with my boss and fellow staff members to get the time approved J.  I have an incredible boss who understands my craziness and wants to support me in my running goals—who can say that?!  So just a few weeks ago, I was at my computer at work at 11 am CST to sign up for the Disneyland Half.  Not only will I be running the Half Marathon on Sunday September 6th, but I will also be running the 5k on Friday and the 10k on Saturday.  I will be coming home with 5 new medals!  One for the 5k, one for the 10k, one for the half (it’s the 10th anniversary, so I cannot wait to see some anniversary bling), one for the dumbo challenge (10k and Half) and then my coast to coast medal!!  

I’m so excited about it all.  I’ll be getting my flight soon—the plan is to fly out late on Wednesday September 2nd (I would like to work a full day), hit up the expo first thing on Thursday September 3rd (I like being able to get all my race merchandise in my sizes with no issues J), run the 5k on Friday September 4th, go to the special Disneyland party the evening of September 4th, run the 10k on Saturday September 5th, run the half marathon on Sunday September 6th, and fly back to Chicago on Sunday September 6th.  This way, I’ll still be able to work and close down my pool on Labor Day.  Since Disneyland is so much more expensive than Disney World and I’m doing this one on my own (my mom and my sister will not be coming), I’m not going to be able to do as many half marathons in the fall… hence why I’m planning on doing the Chicago Marathon.  My plan is to potentially do the Des Moines Half Marathon (I can drive to that one—it’s about 5 hours away) in October and definitely do the Rt 66 Half Marathon in Tulsa, OK in November (it’s the 10th anniversary!).  

If all goes accordingly to my plan, it looks like I’ll be at 19 states at the end of the calendar year.  Looking at that number now, I’d like it to be at 20, but I don’t think that will be possible.  I’ll definitely be more than halfway done by the end of 2016.  Slowly but surely, I’ll get it all done!

Kathleen         

2 thoughts on “Upcoming Races

  1. Wow, so many fun plans! Good luck with the lotteries. I had no idea the odds were so tough for the NYC marathon

  2. I can’t believe that you have to pay again for the NYC Marathon if you defer to the following year. It is the same thing with the Chicago Marathon and I hate it!!

    Yay for Dumbo Challenge. I did it last year and loved it. Oh, and Des Moines Half Marathon and Tulsa Half Marathon are great races too. But the latter is hilly.

Leave a Reply

