Weekly Recap

weeklykathleen

Monday, February 16th: Rest Day

Tuesday, February 17th:  Rest Day

Wednesday, February 18th: 4.13 miles running (10:55 pace on treadmill)

Thursday, February 19th 4.25 miles running (10:35 pace on treadmill)

Friday, February 20th: Rest Day

Saturday, February 21st: 7 miles run/walk ( 13:11 pace on indoor track)

Sunday, February 22nd: 17 miles running (10:43 pace on treadmill)

Crazy doesn’t even begin to describe this week!  When I got back from Austin late Sunday night, I was pretty sore from the hills of Austin.  I decided a two day break from running would be better for me than running right away on Tuesday. I’m glad I waited until Wednesday!

Then on Thursday, I decided that I was going to kick my 45 minute weekday runs up a notch.  Instead of running 4 minutes and walking 1 minute, I was going to start running 4:15 and walking 45 seconds.  It resulted in a 20 second per mile pace reduction!  If I’m going to PR at Shamrock and hit my goal of under 2:15, I have to push myself a little bit more!

The 19 inches of snow we got during the Superbowl a few weeks ago has still not gone away!  So, I’m reduced to doing all of my training runs inside.  So, on Saturday morning, I headed to my local indoor track and got in the 7 miles using the 2 minute walk, 30 second run, 1:30 minute walk and 1 minute run method.  It works out great for me and that is what I’m going to use for the 8k at Shamrock before my half marathon the next day.  I’ll also be using this method in May in Indy before I run the full marathon the next day in Cincinnati.

Saturday night, I hosted a 200 person Daddy-Daughter Dance at work and this year’s theme was “The Oscars”.  It was a great night and the girls and their fathers seemed to have a ball!

Sunday morning I woke up at 5 am, so that I could get to the gym by 6 am to get in my 17 mile run on the treadmill.  I’m really really hoping that the snow starts to melt so in two weeks when I have to do 20 miles, I can finally go outside!  I’ll run in cold, but I refuse to run in ice and snow which could lead me to fall and injury myself!

After my treadmill run, I drove back to my hometown so that my dad and I could go to the University of Illinois basketball game that evening.  I wish I could say they won, but sadly, they disappointed us.  But we had a great time and got to eat at my favorite pizza place – Papa Del’s!

This week is much more calm for me!  I just have 2 forty-five minute weekday runs and then 5 miles on Saturday.  Lauren is also coming up on Saturday, so I’m glad my run will not interfere with seeing her 🙂

Have a great running week!

Kathleen

Leave a Reply

