Weekly Recap

weeklylauren

Monday, February 2nd– Insanity Max 30

Tuesday, February 3rd – 5 miles running, Insanity Max 30

Wednesday, February 4th– 7 miles running (Yasso 800 Intervals), Insanity Max 30

Thursday, February 5th– 3.14 miles running, Insanity Max 30

Friday, February 6th– Rest day

Saturday, February 7th– Run for the Beads 5K

Sunday, February 8th– 12 miles running, Insanity Max 30 (Recovery Workout)

This was a really fun week for me! By the middle of the week, my cold was pretty much gone and I was getting in some really good workouts. On Wednesday, I had a 7 mile tempo run on the treadmill and incorporated Yasso Intervals. I couldn’t believe how fast I could actually go on the treadmill and it felt really good to push myself! I am happy to be incorporating at least one speed workout a week, and can’t wait to see how it pays off come March at the Run the Bluegrass Half Marathon.

In the middle of the week, I also decided to sign up for the Run for the Beads 5K. Mardi Gras is a big deal in St. Louis, and while the actual Mardi Gras celebration is this Saturday, really St. Louis celebrates it the whole month! So the week before Mardi Gras every year there is the Run for the Beads 5K. I couldn’t run in this last year, but then this year a few work friends were planning to run in it, and since I didn’t want to miss out I had to sign up as well! I didn’t get a PR, but the race went pretty well and I will recap it later this week!

Almost at the Finish Line at the Run for the Beads 5K!

Almost at the Finish Line at the Run for the Beads 5K!

On Sunday, my legs were a bit tired from the race, but I made sure to get out there for my long run anyways. After 2 miles I felt like I was dragging so much and I can’t lie – I wanted to quit!! But I kept pushing myself, my time got better, and I actually ended up with a great 12 mile run. And the weather was absolutely perfect – 58 degrees and sunny! Is this really winter?! It was also awesome because after my run loaded I noticed that I had reached over 2000 miles on my Nike + app!!

Over 2000 miles since I started running in 2012!

Over 2000 miles since I started running in 2012!

Hope everyone had a great weekend and happy Monday!

Lauren

Leave a Reply

