Weekly Recap – Lauren

Monday, January 5th: Rest Day

Tuesday, January 6th: 3 miles running

Wednesday, January 7th: Rest Day

Thursday, January 8th: Rest Day

Friday, January 9th: 1 mile running

Saturday, January 10th: 2 miles running

Sunday, January 11th: 26.2 miles running – Walt Disney World Marathon!

10898308_10104565679942610_4021051565125791720_n

Woo-hoo!! Marathon #2 is complete!! It was quite a week, and I will fully recap it either later this week or early next week. Orlando was so much fun and I had an amazing trip, but I am now exhausted to say the least! Even though many of those days above say “rest day”, it’s not totally true because I did a TON of walking around the different parks at Disney and Universal. I would say I walked a marathon in the days leading up to the marathon! Probably not a great idea, but I definitely had to have fun and explore Disney, so I don’t regret it 🙂

Even though I am exhausted, it is more just being really tired- my body is not as sore as it was after my first marathon. Right now, my shoulders and bottom are pretty sore, but the rest of me isn’t too bad at all. I think this is because of all the cross training I incorporated into my regular marathon training this time along. I will definitely continue to do this as I train for my upcoming half marathons.

I am taking until Thursday completely off of any exercise. I am guessing by Wednesday, I will feel ready to get back out there, but I don’t want to get out too soon and then injure myself. I just need to remind myself that my body deserves some rest after all the tough training I have put it through these past couple of months.

While I am very proud to complete my second marathon, I am not looking to do another one anytime soon. I will probably dive into this topic more in a future post, but I feel that I am better and enjoy half marathons way more, so that is what I want to put all my focus into. I am going to incorporate more speed workouts in my upcoming training plan for my half in March, and am looking for another PR!

I’m going to quit rambling and end this post now. I hope you all had a great weekend and a great time in Disney if you were there. I want to make a special shout out to all the incredible volunteers at the race. I have never seen so many volunteers and they were all so extremely kind and encouraging. Thank you for all of your long hours and hard work. It was very appreciated!

Lauren

 

10 thoughts on “Weekly Recap – Lauren

  1. Yay, congrats on finishing your 2nd marathon! I look forward to hearing more about it 🙂 And yeah, I don’t think days at theme parks count as rest 🙂 Last time I wore my fitbit to Disney I had more than 20,000 steps every day.

  2. Congrats again on finishing your 2nd marathon! And yes, the volunteers at Disney races are absolutely amazing! Major thanks to those who volunteer race after race after race.

    • thanks Kathryn! I couldn’t believe how many volunteers there were and they were all so cheerful! I loved how we had our name on our bibs because many of the volunteers would refer to me by name as I went by and cheered me on!

  3. Congrats on finishing your second marathon! Can’t wait to read about it 🙂

  4. Yay another marathon in the books!!

  5. Congrats on Marathon #2

Leave a Reply

