The Time Has Come!

By the time you’re reading this today, I should be in Disney!  I flew out on Tuesday night, so that way I can be at the expo first thing today.  I really want a car magnet, a jacket (but only if its cute), and a dopey headband.  I’m not a huge fan of the “I Did it” shirts… but we’ll see if they have any other designs at the expo.  I’ve saved a bunch of money for this event, so I’m not going to hold back if I like something J (much like the Nike Women’s Half in DC—that was an expensive event… haha).

Lauren, my mom and my aunt will be arriving this afternoon.  If I’m still at the expo, I’ll just meet them there, otherwise, I’ll just enjoy the pool at my resort for the remainder of the afternoon 🙂

We have lots going on while we’re in Disney!  We’ll be going to Harry Potter World in Universal, a few days in the parks and of course, the races!!  This race has truly been a year in the making for me.  When I saw others posting on twitter/facebook/blog posts about the Dopey Challenge last year, I thought, could I do that?!  I saw others who were attempting their first marathon and I thought, that could be me.  I ran the Mississippi Blues Half Marathon in January 2014, because I knew that I wanted to do the Disney World Half Marathon in 2015, but did I ever think I’d be doing the marathon?!  Heck no!  As I read over the posts, figured out my financial situation, I realized, I could do this. If I committed myself to the training, I could do it.  And here I am… ready to do it.  Roughly 545 training miles have been put in since the “official” training started on July 1, 2013.  Sunday afternoon… it will be all over.  I’ll hopefully be coming home on Mondaymorning with 6 glorious medals, amazing memories and merchandise to die over 🙂

I cannot wait to recap it all with you when I return home next week!  Watch for my Twitter for the updates on me during the races… we’ll also try and post pics throughout the week as well 🙂

Kathleen

2 thoughts on “The Time Has Come!

  1. Yay, I hope you have a great time! I look forward to seeing the updates on twitter 🙂

  2. Good luck and have fun!!

Leave a Reply

