Lauren’s 2015 Goals!

Here are my fitness related goals for 2015:

1. Break a 1:50 half marathon time

Last year my goal was to break a 2 hour half marathon. I did that in October 2014, when I ran the St. Louis Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon with a time of 1:53:52. This year, I want to go below 1:50. I know I can achieve this goal if I continue to run at least 4 times a week, and incorporate at least one of my training runs a week to speed work.

2. Try new fitness related activities

I really want to push myself out of my comfort zone and try some new fitness activities in 2015. It’s crazy to think that just a few years ago, I would have rather done basically anything other than running. Running seemed like torture to me! Now I am pretty much obsessed with running, so I want to try other activities that I might be unsure about and see if I end up enjoying them as well. I am thinking of either trying to bike or swim regularly, because eventually I would love to compete in a triathlon!

I have also purchased Insanity Max 30, which I am going to start after the Walt Disney World Marathon. It is a 60 day program and it is super intense but the before and after pictures of people that have done it are amazing! I really want to commit to it and follow through with all 60 days.

3. Eat better

I am going to start cooking more at home and eating out less. It will definitely be a challenge, but I know at the end of the day it will save me money and be better for my health. It’s not like I eat terrible now, but I could benefit a lot (like most people) from eating healthier more often. I will try to blog more about healthy recipes that I try and will definitely be checking out others blogs to get inspiration for a healthier lifestyle!

Non-fitness related goals for 2015:

1. Read 52 books

Working at a library, I obviously love to read and last year I took on the challenge of reading 52 books (averages out to one a week) and I ended up reading 53! I have the goal of 52 again for this year, but hopefully I end up reading even more!

2. Practice patience

This year, I want to make a conscience effort to be more patient. I tend to get annoyed easily over stupid things, so I am going to try to not to do this, see things from others perspectives, and be an overall more understanding person. My job is heavy in customer service, so patience would definitely be beneficial for me with that, but also would benefit my relationships with my family and friends! 🙂

Lauren

One thought on “Lauren’s 2015 Goals!

  1. Great goals! Looking forward to reading about them.

Leave a Reply

