Happy New Year!

new year

I just wanted to wish everyone a Happy New Year! 2014 was quite a year, but I think 2015 will be even more amazing! In just a week, Kathleen and I will be starting our racing year at Walt Disney World for Disney Marathon Weekend. I can’t think of a better place to begin the year and to do my first race of the year at!

Like Kathleen did yesterday, I thought I would recap my 2014 goals. Here were my goals for 2014 and how I accomplished them:

1. Commit to my training plan

– I have two half marathons coming up in March and April, and then my first full marathon in June. Therefore, I really need to make sure I stay on track with my training plans. I have already plotted out all my runs until the marathon in June, and I am already freaking out about some of the runs. But I know that if I just follow the schedule, then I will succeed and these long runs ahead (22 miles!) won’t be as difficult.

RESULT:

Aft

After my first marathon in June 2014. I would never have finished this marathon if I didn’t follow a training plan!

I am really proud of myself for committing to the training plans for all my big races. I might have had to miss a short run here or there, or had to switch up my running days a few times, but I did really well at getting my required workouts and runs in. Being a runner is all about being dedicated and I accomplished that this past year. I had to make some sacrifices (not so many late nights and not that much alcohol!), but they were definitely worth it in the end because I ended up improving my running drastically over the year. I also am very lucky to have a very supportive boyfriend, Justin, who also had to adjust to my running lifestyle and was very understanding when I couldn’t stay out late because I had a long run early in the morning I had to do!

2. Become more fit overall

– Obviously with all my runs that will keep me in pretty good shape. But I want to get stronger, and am currently doing Jillian Michael’s Body Revolution DVD’s in order to achieve this goal. I know that by being stronger, not only will I feel better, but my running will also improve. I want to be in the best shape of my life this year!

RESULT:

I have definitely become much more fit in 2014, and look to improve on this more in 2015.

I have become much more fit in 2014, and look to improve on this more in 2015.

I have definitely become more fit this year. I can see it in my body, but it also shows in my running because I can run for a really long time without having to stop to walk and I really don’t get side cramps or muscle pains while I am running like I used to. I want to continue to work on this in 2015. I have already purchased Insanity Max 30 which I am going to do after the Walt Disney Marathon is over, and I want to get involved in some workout classes offered at my gym.

3. Break 2 hours for a half marathon

–By the end of the year, I hope that I will have reached a sub 2:00 hour half marathon. I believe that I will achieve this by following my training plans that have speed work built in them. I think it would be so cool to go under 2 hours and I will work really hard to make this a reality!

RESULT:

unnamed-20

After the Rock ‘n’ Roll St. Louis half where I got a PR of 1:53:52, and accomplished my goal of a sub-2 hour half marathon!

 

Mission accomplished for this goal! My first half of the year I came very close, and then at the Nike Half in April I just barely missed this goal. For my last half in October at the Rock ‘n’ Roll St. Louis Half Marathon, I crushed this goal and got a PR of 1:53:52. I was really happy with this time because I not only went under 2 hours, but I did almost 20 minutes better than I did the previous year at this same race. I can’t wait to see how much I can improve in 2015. 

 

6 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Congrats on meeting the goals! I love what you had to say about committing to a training plan. That type of dedication is definitely something to be proud of 🙂

  2. Happy New Year Girls!!! Have fun in Disney!

  3. Great job on your goals! Love that picture of you with the bluish tank tops.

Leave a Reply

