A Look Back at my 2014 Goals

Here were my 2014 goals and the results!

 

  1. Break a 2:20 half marathon time — I definitely think this is a reachable goal! I’ve been right around 2:21 for my past 2    half marathons that were on HILLY courses! I think the Nike Women’s Half Marathon will be the race to do this with a flat and fast course.

GOAL ACCOMPLISHED!!  I knew that I wanted to make the half marathon in Washington DC at the Nike Women’s Half my big goal race and that’s exactly what I did!  I ran the Nike Women’s Half in Washington DC in 2:16:36.  I was so happy when I knew that I was going to come in under 2:20 that I started to cry J.  I also came in under 2:20 at the Omaha Half in September where I was just 12 seconds slower than DC.  That race time was unexpected and when I knew it was going to be close, I tried to give it my all for a PR, but I just slightly came up short.  Nonetheless, I was very happy having 2 races come in under my 2014 goal time.

  1. Run at least 6 half marathons — I would like to average 1 half marathon every 2 months! I’ve already completed 1 half marathon in January 2014 and I am already signed up for 4 more thru October. I need to find one more to put on the schedule! And another state too!

GOAL ACCOMPLISHED!  I actually ended up running 7 half marathons in 2014.  I actually wanted to run one more but sadly my new job got in the way of that one L.  Oh well, I still did 5 more half marathons in 2014 than 2013 and I’m not sure what I’m going to make my goal for 2015 yet!

  1. Start training for the Walt Disney World Marathon

– I may be slightly crazy, but I’m pretty sure I’m going to go DOPEY in January 2015! I did the Mississippi Blues Half Marathon in January 2014, because I knew I wanted to do the Walt Disney World Half Marathon in January 2015 (both races are the same weekend every year). The Dopey Challenge is exactly what it sounds like… Dopey! It is a 5k on Thursday, 10k on Friday, Half Marathon on Saturday and a Full Marathon on Sunday. You get a total of 6 beautiful medals!! I’ll expand more upon this later on in 2014, but I’ve got the training program and I’m going to stick to it no matter what if I sign up in April!

GOAL ACCOMPLISHED!  I can officially say that I have successfully trained for the Walt Disney World Marathon and the DOPEY CHALLENGE.  I wasn’t sure if I could do it, but after three 20 mile runs and 3 back to back to back to back training days (4 days in a row is not easy let me tell you), I am ready!  I just have three more runs (two 45 minute runs and 7 miles) and then comes the big day!  Having this big training goal for 2014 was exhausting but it definitely made me a stronger runner and more confident in my running abilities.

I’ve started thinking about my 2015 goals and I will reveal those on Friday 🙂

Kathleen

2 thoughts on “A Look Back at my 2014 Goals

  1. Wow, great job with those goals! That’s awesome that you met all of them 🙂 I look forward to hearing what this year has in store for you.

  2. Glad you were able to accomplish your goals!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

