Weekly Recap – Lauren

weeklylauren

Monday, December 22nd: Foam rolling, stretching

Tuesday, December 23rd: 4 mile run, 4 mile walk, stretching

Wednesday, December 24th: 5 mile run, abs

Thursday, December 25th: 5 mile run, 1 mile walk

Friday, December 26th: Rest day

Saturday, December 27th: 10 mile race, 1.5 mile walk, foam rolling, stretching

Sunday, December 28th: 3.1 mile run, 1 mile walk, foam rolling, stretching

The big day is almost here! I cannot believe I will be running my second marathon in less than 2 weeks. As I always say towards the end of all my training for big races, the time really does fly by!

I had a great couple of days at home for the holidays, and then it was back to work on Friday. I took a rest day from exercise on Friday because I was exhausted from all my traveling back and fourth between St. Louis and Normal, and my body definitely needed the rest!

I did end up running in the 10 mile race on Saturday morning. While the forecast at the beginning of the week predicted it would be in the low 30s, come race morning it was 48 degrees! Before I left, there was no rain whatsoever in the forecast. But when I got to the park where the race was, it definitely looked a little dark. I checked my phone again and there was still no rain in the forecast so I thought I would be safe! I was wrong.

This 10 mile race is part of the Frostbite series, which is about 5 races that take place in the winter at the largest park in St. Louis – Forest Park. You can sign up for all the races for a cheaper price, or you can sign up for them individually for $20. There is a short race and long race on each morning. For this day, there was a 2 mile and 10 mile race. I just signed up for the individual race since I won’t be able to do them all, but I hope in the coming years I might be able to because you get points for each race you do and then at the end you can see how you rank amongst all the great runners there! I wish there were more race series like this.

I got there about an hour before the race started because I wasn’t really sure on how hard it would be to find a parking spot or how long it would take me to get my race bib (you could only pick up your race bib that morning). Once I got there, it didn’t take long at all to find a parking spot or get my bib, so I just waited in my car until about 10 minutes before the start.

The short race began before the long race, so we started about 10 minutes late at 8:40am. The main aspect of the race that I didn’t like was that we were running in the road and the roads weren’t blocked off for the race. So, we really had to be careful to not get hit by/or in the way of cars. This wasn’t horrible because it’s not like there is a large amount of traffic in the middle of the park, but there was some so we all had to be extra aware of our surroundings.

About 2-3 miles into the race it started raining. The rain wouldn’t have been horrible by itself because it wasn’t too heavy, but it was also very windy and at the time it was the worst the wind was in our faces and we were going up a hill! I started to ask myself why I even signed up for this, but I knew this was good practice for when I am in this situation again. It could rain at Disney and that will be for 26 miles, so I need to be prepared!

I wasn’t trying to push myself too hard for this race. I inevitably went faster than I would have on a normal training run, but definitely not as fast as I could have. I am in taper-mode for the marathon, and I don’t want to overexert myself and end up in pain or injured when the marathon is so close. So for this race, I ended up with a time of 1:26:57 (8:41/mile). Definitely not slow, but not too fast that I was extremely sore and/or tired after!

This race was my last one of 2014, and I ran in a total of 17 races this year! It has been quite a year and I can’t wait for what next year holds. Later this week, I will recap my 2014 goals and races and will preview what is to come and what I am hoping for in 2015!

Lauren

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Recap – Lauren

  1. 17 races is a busy year! I can’t wait to hear what you have planned for 2015!

  2. Whoa, you’ve had quite a year. That’s awesome! Cant wait for WDW Marathon Weekend…hope to meet up with you guys!

Leave a Reply

