2014 Medals!

Here is a picture of me with all of my medals for 2014!:

 

unnamed-31

 

Favorite:  Mississippi Blues

missmedal

–This was my first medal of 2014 and hands down my favorite one!  It’s huge!!  The course was tough, but the swag was absolutely great (I got a pullover zip, harmonica, and a reusable bag) and I would do this race again in a heartbeat if I didn’t have 41 other states to get done.

Least favorite:  Omaha

omahamed

–It’s a cute medal but it doesn’t say anything on it about being for the half marathon.  It simply says “Marathon-Half Marathon”.  I don’t think that’s right.  Marathoners have to put in a lot more work and to get the exact same medal—that isn’t right.

Most Unique:  Nike Women’s Half

unnamed1

–It’s a Tiffany necklace!  I wear it occasionally but I don’t want to get it dirty or tarnished so I keep it in the box now all the time.  It’s certainly the smallest bling of the year, but one of my favorites since it is my current half PR.

 No medal races:  Shamrock Shuffle and Frontier Days Stampede Run 10k

–I usually don’t do races that do not involve medals, but these were my two exceptions this year.  I’ve done the Shamrock Shuffle the past two years and I will not be repeating this race again in 2015 because I got a great PR this year but really because I’m really tired of going downtown Chicago for these overcrowded races.

The Frontier Days race was a last minute decision—I literally signed up the morning of the race and it was run by my park district at the time.  It was a fun race with a ton of food at the end and a race t-shirt that I use to train in all the time now.

I’m really looking forward to my medals in 2015.  I’ll get six right off the bat in January and I have at least six more medals lined up thru May.  I finally got a 50 state half marathon medal holder, so I cannot wait to get that up and displayed soon!

 

Kathleen

Leave a Reply

