Races Ahead for 2015!

I can’t believe it is already December which of course means 2014 is coming to a close. This year has flown by! Next weekend I will be racing in the Hot Chocolate 15K St. Louis which will be my last (and 16th!) race of the year. So, I thought now would be a good time to share the races I have ahead for 2015, at least the ones I have already signed up for (I’m sure many more will be added :)).

1. January 11th: Walt Disney World Marathon

146.jpg

-This is the race I have been training for since August. It will be my second ever full marathon, and probably my last full marathon for awhile (marathon training just takes too much out of me!). I am extremely excited about this race because my sister will be doing it as well, and my mom is coming down and we are going to enjoy a few days in Orlando before the big day. I have been to Disney twice, and it is one of my favorite places to visit. It always makes me so happy and I am looking forward to it so much! And we are also going to Harry Potter at Universal Studios which I am super pumped about!

2. March 28th: Run the Bluegrass Half Marathon

490x275-run-bluegrass

I was not planning on doing this race, but Kathleen had paid for a registration and then could not participate because of work obligations, so she was able to transfer the registration to me! Luckily, I can take the Friday before off so that we can drive over to Lexington, Kentucky for the race on Saturday. Justin will be coming with, so it will be a little getaway for us as well. After looking through the website at the beautiful course, I can’t wait to run in this race. I am just hoping the weather is pleasant on this day, because I looked at race recaps from last year and it rained the whole time so that would not be so fun!

3. April 12th: GO! St. Louis Half Marathon

Go-transparent

A couple weeks after the Bluegrass half, I will be running in St. Louis in the GO! St. Louis Half Marathon. I registered for this one early and am looking forward to running in the 25th anniversary of this race. I have only heard positive things about this race, and after having such a good experience at the GO! St. Louis Halloween 10K, I knew I had to race in this if I was able. A perk of this race is the wonderful Ted Drewes custard after as well as Crown Candy treats (two of St. Louis’ best food spots!). It should be a fun race and I always love to support the races in St. Louis.

4. August 15th: lululemon Seawheeze Half Marathon

Logo_Home

As I previously posted about, in August Phu and I will be headed to Vancouver for the lululemon Seawheeze Half Marathon. To say I am excited about this race is a major understatement! This will be a weekend full of yoga and of course running, and I am sure Phu and I will indulge in a little shopping of exclusive lululemon Seawheeze apparel (pray for our bank accounts please). The only thing I am disappointed about is that this race is so far away, we had to sign up a year in advance! But I’m sure it will be an awesome experience and it will be here before we know it!

So, that is my list so far of races that I am signed up for. I feel very fortunate that I am able to travel near and far to participate in these races and it is already shaping up to be another exciting running year. I’m sure I will end up signing up for some smaller races, as well as probably another half for the summer and later in the fall. I will of course keep you all updated!

Lauren

7 thoughts on “Races Ahead for 2015!

  1. Woot woot can’t wait for seawheeze!

  2. Fun schedule! You’ll have a great time at SeaWheeze – Vancouver is a beautiful city! They also have a lulu lab right off cambie street that you may want to check out as well.

  3. Are you planning on doing any other full marathons in 2015 after Disney? I am really thinking about doing STL again this year. I loved it last year and it works out great for my training schedule.

  4. I volunteered and ran SeaWheeze last year and I signed up again for 2015. Vancouver is an amazing city to visit in warm summer weather and the SeaWheeze weekend is incredible! There’s a couple of noticeable elevation changes on the course, but I’m sure you’ll be fully prepared. Just make sure you get to the showcase store early so you don’t miss out on the SeaWheeze merchandise chaos. It’s quite the experience!

    I’m doing the Dopey Challenge next week, so “see” you there!

    • Oooh I am happy to hear you loved SeaWheeze! I really am so excited for that one and I will definitely be going to the showcase store early. I need to start saving my money for that now! haha. And good luck on the Dopey Challenge!! It is almost here!

Leave a Reply

