Weekly Recap

weeklykathleen

Monday, November 24th: 4.3 miles running (10:27 pace on treadmill)

Tuesday, November 25th:  Rest Day

Wednesday, November 26th: 4.14 miles running (10:52 pace OUTSIDE)

Thursday, November 27th 4 miles walking (14:21 pace OUTSIDE)

Friday, November 28th: 10 miles walking (14:57 pace OUTSIDE)

Saturday, November 29th: 20 miles running (11:27 pace OUTSIDE)

Sunday, November 30th: Rest Day

Thank goodness my last day at work for the week was on Tuesday because as you can see, I had a very busy week for Dopey Challenge training.  I knew it was going to be a crazy week for training and also with the holiday, so I rearranged the schedule just a bit, but still did the four days in a row.  As you can see, I was super excited to be doing the four days in a row outside.  The weather wasn’t the best (25, 27, 35 and then 45 degrees), but it wasn’t snowing (expect for Thanksgiving day during my four mile walk) and there was not any ice for me to slip on!  As I’ve stated again and again, I am avoiding injury as best I can like the plague.  I’ve come so far in my training so far, I cannot be stopped now by a dumb injury.

I took Lauren’s advice and listened to a book during my 10 mile walk and 20 mile run.  It was very enjoyable!  I wasn’t sure how I would like listening to a book while I was running, but I actually did and I’m hoping she can provide more suggestions soon too.

The 20 mile run was much different than my first twenty miler a few weeks ago. A few weeks ago, my 20 mile run had to be done on the treadmill because we had gotten snow where I live and it was super icy.  Running on the treadmill is a much different experience than running outside, so I was not expecting to run as well outside as I had run on the treadmill a few weeks ago.  This run was also super windy (expert runner Lauren also agreed with that too!) so many times I was running into the wind…so it was difficult!  I had brought a bottle of water expecting to be able to fill it up on the trail that I was running at, but all of the water fountains had been turned off.  Luckily, my dad was able to come to the rescue and brought me a couple of bottles of water.  My final 20 mile run for this race will also be done in my hometown, so I’ll be utilizing him or my mom again.  I just hope the weather keeps cooperating with me for that final long run—so I don’t have to be confined to the treadmill.

This week is going to be much less stressful running wise, but crazy in workland!  I’ll be decorating a recreation center on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday for the holidays and then running an event called “Santa’s Flight” where we have 300 person breakfast (with assigned seating—I’ve gotten ahold of all but 38 people so far!) where Santa comes in on a helicopter and greets all the children at a regional airport.  Plus I’ll be volunteering on Saturday at a 5k for work… glad I’m not running in it!  I’m glad this isn’t a crazy Dopey week 🙂

Have a great week!

Kathleen

Leave a Reply

