Weekly Recap

weeklylauren

Monday, November 10th: Rest Day

Tuesday, November 11th: 21 Day Fix DVD

Wednesday, November 12th: 8 mile run

Thursday, November 13th: 3.45 mile run

Friday, November 14th: 21 Day Fix DVD

Saturday, November 15th: Girls on the Run 5K (Walk/Run 3.11 miles)

Sunday, November 16th: 17 mile run

Winter is definitely here, even though it is still supposed to be Fall! The temperatures dropped significantly this week AND we got snow, so my runs were definitely affected! I pretty much got everything done that I was supposed to, but I am not a happy camper about this change in weather this “early” in the season. But I knew I would have to deal with this since I am training for a marathon held in January!

On Thursday, I was supposed to run 4 miles, but my hands were pretty much frozen about 3 miles in, so I raced back to my apartment as soon as I could so that I didn’t get frostbite! It was awful! I even had two pairs of gloves on, so I upgraded this weekend and bought some thermal gloves (hopefully those will keep me warmer!).

In the middle of the week, I was asked by one of my friends if I could fill in for her and be a “running buddy” for a 12 year old girl in the Girls in the Run 5K held on Saturday. I said yes because I have always wanted to help with that great organization, and I knew I would be running anyways, so why not help a child (and my friend) out? So on Saturday, I braved the cold and headed downtown St. Louis at 7:30AM. I was pretty much frozen, but all in all it was a great experience and I’m happy I was able to participate in the race as a running buddy.

Since it snowed a little on Saturday night and then continued this on Sunday morning, I decided to take my long run inside to the indoor track Sunday morning before work. It was brutal, but I got it done. It is definitely not fun to run so many laps on the indoor track (11 laps = 1 mile), but I have a cold so I didn’t want to make it worse and I didn’t want to risk falling on the snowy sidewalks. I probably looked like a crazy person to the staff there, but they might be seeing more of me if the weather does not cooperate!

I hope everyone has a great week! Stay warm!

Lauren

Leave a Reply

