Sweat 4 Pets 10K Preview

details_eca5cfd3d34ca2d2bdfe6016d53a7862de92c5f7

While Kathleen will be tackling the Hot Chocolate 15K in Chicago on Sunday, I will be at home in St. Louis running in the Sweat 4 Pets 10K. I found out about this race about a month ago, and signed up immediately. The proceeds from the race go to directly to Operation SPOT (Stop Pet Overpopulation Today). This charity works to stop “the unnecessary euthanasia of dogs and cats by providing and facilitating affordable spaying and neutering services throughout the metro area” (SOURCE). Besides running for a great cause, this race is also awesome because it is right across the street from my apartment at the park where I run at every week. (Home court advantage for me!)

The cost of the race was amazing at only $20! There aren’t many 10K’s I’m aware of that you can run in for that low of a price. At the packet pickup on Saturday, we will receive our packet which will include a race t-shirt. I can’t wait to see what the shirt looks like, and will be sure to post it here next week and on my Twitter account when I receive it! Dogs are allowed to run, but unfortunately this race is just a little bit too long for my Lilli. She specializes in the 5k distance 🙂

TOP GOALS FOR SWEAT 4 PETS 10K:

1. PR: As in every race, my top goal is to PR. This will be hard since I ran the GO! St. Louis Halloween 10K just under 50 minutes a couple of weeks ago, but I will try my best to top that time.

2. Place: This is a smaller race, so there is a chance that I will be able to place in my division. I looked at the results from last year and the person that won my division was in the 9:30/mile range, so if that is the same for this year, I will have a chance to get a medal.

3. Have fun! This race benefits a great organization, and even if I don’t achieve my top 2 goals, I want to make sure I have fun and enjoy the race. There will be lots of dogs running, so I am excited to see all the different breeds. There is also a raffle afterwards, so hopefully I can win a prize! 🙂

After the race, I will have to run an extra 7 miles since my marathon training plan calls for 13.1 miles on this day. Since I will be pushing hard during the race to PR, I will make sure to take the other 7 miles at an easy pace so that I am not too worn out. Next week, my long run is 17 miles on top of the hard miles I will have during the week, so I want to make sure that I am fresh and ready to take those training runs on!

I hope everyone has a fabulous weekend and good luck to all of you who have races as well!

Lauren

Leave a Reply

