Rock ‘n’ Roll 5K & Expo Recap

490x270-stl-14-logo

My Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon weekend did not start off on a great foot. Friday night, I rushed after work to the expo which was open on Friday from 9AM-6PM. I get off work at 5PM, and can make it downtown in around 30 minutes on a good day. Unfortunately, on a Friday afternoon, there was no way I was making it in 30 minutes because there was of course tons of traffic. I thought that there would be no packet pickup in the morning before the 5K, so that’s why I wanted to make sure to get there Friday before it closed.

I was going crazy in the car because my GPS kept saying I would get there later and later and started to seem like I wouldn’t get there in time. So of course, I was freaking out! I was worried I spent all this money to run the 5K on Saturday, and I wouldn’t even be able to! I finally got off the exit at about 5:45PM, but the downtown traffic was also horrible, so I was still concerned. I finally got to the America’s Center where the expo was at around 5:50PM. Of course there was no parking on the street around there and I was in a rush, so I ended up spending $15 to park! Oh well, at least I knew I would be getting my packet!

I ran inside and found the area where Rock ‘n’ Roll was pretty easily. It was clear they were about to close because the only area open was where the packets and tshirts were. I quickly grabbed my bib for the half, then I had to go to a separate table to pick up my bib for the 5K and then I had to go in another area to pick up the shirts! As I was still in there, they started to turn off the lights so it was clear- it was time to go! Obviously the expo part was closed so I decided to go back on Saturday after my 5K since it was open from 10AM-5PM. Oh and by the way, later I found out that I could have picked up my packet for the 5K (not the half) on the morning of the race. I will not forget this next year!

5K Race Shirt

5K Race Shirt

The 5K started on Saturday at 8AM. So, I woke up around 6AM and got ready in my race outfit. I had planned to just wear a short-sleeve shirt and capris, but after looking at the weather forecast one more time, I decided to also where a pullover because race time temperature was going to be around 45 degrees.

My outfit for the race. I was laughing because Lilli kept trying to get in the picture! (You can see her tail!)

My outfit for the race. I was laughing because Lilli kept trying to get in the picture! (You can see her tail!)

Justin, Lilli, and I headed downtown about 7:15AM and got to the start in plenty of time so we found a place to park so we could walk over to the start together. Justin wasn’t running but was just going to stick around there since it was a short race. Lilli seemed a little upset that she couldn’t run with me, but no doggies allowed in this race!

It was cool but sunny out and I was excited to be racing. I decided to just push myself as much as I could because it was only a 5K and I would have plenty of time during the day to take it easy! There was a lot of people running, but a lot seemed to be taking it easy because of the half or marathon they had the next day, and others seemed to be beginners to racing.

Once we started, I was off at a pretty quick pace that I was able to closely maintain throughout the course of the race. We got to run past Busch Stadium (where the Cardinals play) and through part of the downtown business district, so I really enjoyed looking at the various sites throughout the race course.

Close to the finish line

Close to the finish line

Before I knew it, my GPS was telling me we were about .5 miles from the finish line. This race seemed so fast especially with the longer distances I have been doing with my marathon training. My thighs were burning, though, because of the faster pace we were going!

I crossed the finish line with a time of 23:57. This was not a PR for me, but it was pretty close and I was very pleased with my time. I know I would have regretted it later if I just took it easy, so I was happy that I decided to really race this 5K. I ended up getting 2nd out of 95 in my division, and 51 out of 1121 overall. Not too bad!

5K Medal

5K Medal

Results

Results

Later in the day we went back downtown for the race expo. I really liked the merchandise this year for the race, but I decided not to get anything simply because I have SO many racing clothes! Other than the merchandise, I really wasn’t that impressed with this expo. Last year’s expo seemed to be much more interactive with the sponsors, and that aspect just wasn’t there this year. The only thing I ended up getting was some Clifshots, but I could have just got those at the grocery store! Oh well, probably better for my wallet that there wasn’t that much that excited me at the expo.

Next week, I will be back with a full recap of my PR in the Rock ‘n’ Roll St. Louis Half!

Lauren

2 thoughts on “Rock ‘n’ Roll 5K & Expo Recap

  1. Congrats on finishing 2nd in your division! Sad that last year’s expo seemed better. I’ve heard that about several races this year.

Leave a Reply

