Race Weekend!

halloween-logo

Woo-hoo! I am so happy it is finally the weekend, and my race is in just over 12 hours. Tomorrow, I will be running in the GO! St Louis Halloween 10K. This will be my longest race since the marathon in June, and I have been looking forward to this one for awhile.

This morning, I went to the packet pickup. It was very quick and simple. Two tables were set up with the packets and the volunteers were very friendly and gave me my packet which included: a tshirt, a race bib, a coupon for free Chipotle, and a few flyers for upcoming races. I was worried that parking might be an issue, but we were able to park in the lot of the building with no problem at all. Below is the shirt we received and my race bib for tomorrow. I really like the color and design of the shirt, just wish that it was a technical running shirt and not just cotton, but oh well!

Bzs88pTCEAALCqn.jpg-largeThis is quite a large race as there is a fun run, 5K, 10K and half marathon. I am kind of wishing now that I would have signed up for the half marathon, but since I have the Rock ‘n Roll St. Louis Half Marathon next weekend, I did not want to wear out my wallet or body too much. I am scheduled to run for longer than 6.22 miles tomorrow according to my marathon plan, so depending on how I feel after the race, I will try my best to get my other miles in.

As I shared at the beginning of the week, I have not felt that great about my runs lately. I think my body has been a bit worn out, but during this morning’s 3 mile run, I felt the best that I had in quite some time. I felt like my legs were so much stronger and that I could run forever! I am hoping to continue this feeling into tomorrow’s race, and am hoping that I will be able to PR!

My main goal for this race is to PR. My last 10K race was the Memorial Day race in May where I had a time of 51:41. I feel that I have become faster since then and I might not wear out as easily tomorrow because it is supposed to be much cooler temperature than that race in May! So I might sound crazy, but I hope to beat my previous PR by at least a minute. It would be absolutely amazing (and maybe not possible for me right now) to go under 50 minutes, but I would be estatic with a time of 50:41!

I feel that October is the best month for running, so I can’t wait to kick off my first of 3 October races tomorrow at the GO! St. Louis Halloween 10K! I will, of course, let you all know next week how it went!

Lauren

Leave a Reply

