SeaWheeze 2015!

Logo_Home

A few months ago, my friend Phu told me about a half marathon lululemon had – the SeaWheeze Half in Vancouver, B.C. She shared the link with me and I went to the website and it looked like so much fun – a weekend full of yoga, running, a concert, and exclusive lululemon clothing. I put this race on my bucket list, but didn’t know if it would be possible to do within the next few years.

But then, a couple of weeks ago, Phu posted a link for the sign up for the 2015 Sea Wheeze race on my Facebook, I researched a bit, and then came to the conclusion that we HAD to go! This race was unusual because registration opens almost a year before the actual race. And, it’s not like you can wait around to decide whether or not you want to go, because this race is known to sell out VERY quickly!

So last week, Phu and I both logged on at exactly 12PM when the registration opened and waited patiently to sign up. You were put in a “waiting room” which is similar to what happens when you purchase tickets on Ticketmaster. I felt like I was in the waiting room forever, and I was worried it had already sold out! But, I finally got past the waiting room and into the actual site where I could sign up. It took me about 5 minutes to complete the process, and then I was officially registered for the race. Phu and I were texting back and fourth, and I was a bit worried because by the time I was done registering, she was still in the waiting room. I started to panic thinking that she would not get in and I would be all by myself in Vancouver!! Luckily, about 5 minutes later she got past the waiting room and was able to register!

We were very lucky to get in, because the race actually sold out in about 30 minutes. I can’t wait to go internationally for a race, and am excited to explore Vancouver with one of my BFF’s. Because this race will cost me a lot, I will definitely have to cut back on how many races I do next year. But this means that I will focus even more on training and becoming faster, so it’s not such a bad thing. 2015 is really shaping up to be an exciting race year – starting off in Disney and now also going to Canada! I can’t wait for it to start!

Lauren

5 thoughts on “SeaWheeze 2015!

  1. Yeah! I’m excited!!! Can’t wait! 🙂

  2. I would love to visit Vancouver. There is nothing better than exploring a new city with a friend. How do you budget for your races? This is an area Brandon and I could use some help with.

    • I wish I could help, but I am SO bad at this as well! Next year since I have so many bigger trips, I am definitely cutting back on the number of races I will be doing (especially the smaller 5K’s around town that I sometimes do), but I will definitely need to save more money for all the racecations coming up!

  3. Wow, that race sounds like a lot fun. I’ve never done an international race.

  4. Vancouver is a beautiful city and the course is lovely. It is crazy the race sold out in 30 minutes! I ran the second year, and I think it was a few months before it sold out.

Leave a Reply

