Cardinals Care 6K Race Weekend Preview

runhome150x159

Hello everyone! So happy it is finally Friday, as I have a BIG weekend ahead of me. My weekend is going to be so packed and awesome as I will be going to Loufest, the NFL season is finally starting and I can’t wait to watch my Indianapolis Colts on Sunday Night Football, and I will be racing in the Cardinals Care 6K! I am sure this weekend will fly by, but I can’t wait to enjoy every minute of it.

Last year, I participated in the Cardinals Care 6K for the first time, and it was one of my favorite races. The price was hard to beat ($20, had to fundraise $75), awesome packet full of goodies (t-shirt, Cardinals tickets, key chain, coozie, and more), you got to finish the race on the Cardinals field, and I received a pretty cool finisher’s medal! It was an amazing experience. And one of the best parts was that who put the medal on me at the finish? Oh just track legend, Jackie Joyner-Kersee!

View from the field where we finished the race!

View from the field where we finished the race!

Getting my medal from Jackie Joyner-Kersee!

Getting my medal from Jackie Joyner-Kersee!

cards4

On the field at Busch Stadium after receiving my medal.

After such a great time last year, I immediately registered for this year’s race right when registration opened. Since I have to work today, I will be picking up my packet tomorrow and I can’t wait to see what goodies await me this year. The actual race will be this Sunday at 8:06AM, and will be about 3.75 miles (6K). Last year, I finished with a time of 34:43. This year, I hope to break 30 minutes. I know this will be a hard goal to reach, but I have done some speed workouts lately, so hopefully I will be able to!

I hope everyone has an awesome weekend! I’ll be back next week with a recap of this race!

Lauren

2 thoughts on “Cardinals Care 6K Race Weekend Preview

  1. Love it when races have “weird” numbers associated with them. A 6k that starts at 8:06. 🙂

    • I agree! They actually started a bit early though, I think because they started the anthem and introduction too early, and so there was too much awkward silence so they just decided to start haha

Leave a Reply

