Start of Training for Marathon #2!

146.jpg

The beginning of August (tomorrow) marks the start of training for my second full marathon – The Walt Disney World Marathon in January. Even though January seems forever away, as I found out during the training for my last marathon, it will be here in no time!

My last marathon was a success for me because since it was my first, my only goal for it was to finish. As I stated in my recap of that marathon, many times throughout the course of the race I wanted to give up because it was much harder and more painful than I could have ever imagined. I think this upcoming marathon will go a lot smoother now because I know better of what to expect. Also, I know what I need to work on in order to make this an even better experience.

I experienced a lot more pain than I could have ever imagined during my first marathon. Halfway through the marathon, the bottom half of my body was just so sore. It was like nothing I had ever experienced! So for the Disney World Marathon, I am going to put a lot of my time and energy into strength training. I want the first half of my marathon training (until November) to really focus on becoming stronger. I will try to incorporate more hills into my training runs in order to help get stronger leg muscles. I remember I had so much pain in my glutes during the marathon, so I will also focus on exercises for that area. Having a stronger core will help my posture during my runs which is why I am taking on an Ab ChallengeΒ for August. I will also continue to go to my group exercise classes that focus on building strength.

Another thing I failed at during the training for my last marathon was stretching. I was truly awful at this. I would stretch maybe 5 minutes tops after my long training runs, but this obviously is not sufficient. So I want to focus more on giving myself adequate time for stretching after all my runs and to incorporate more foam-rolling into my recovery. I have a foam roller so I NEED to start using it! Also, my YMCA is now going to include yoga classes free with membership (you used to have to pay separately for those) so I will definitely start going to those.

I have already made a schedule of my day to day goals for August (you can view it here:Β workout schedule – aug 2014!) I am going to make a schedule out for every month and really try my best to stick to it. While I can’t believe I am already starting to train for another marathon, I look forward to progressing and becoming a better runner and in better shape overall.

Lauren

9 thoughts on “Start of Training for Marathon #2!

  1. Isn’t it amazing that even though you think you trained as hard as you possibly could for a marathon the pain that you get during the race doesn’t compare to anything you experienced while training?

    I completely understand how you feel, I felt the same way leading into my second marathon. Strength training is neglected when you are focused on just running in a strait line for 26.2 miles but it is surprisingly a major part of the effort.

    Luckily the Disney course is the flattest course I have ever ran, with the only things resembling hills coming in the form of an underpass, the entrance onto the racetrack, and an overpass. Even better, all those hills come before mile 15 so the last part is all just smooth flat running.

    Lastly, I am very impressed with your training schedule that you have set out and I might even steal some of it for my own training. Looking forward to running with you, rather than just watching you run from a water station, in Disney.

    • Thanks Brandon! I am very happy to hear that Disney is very flat. That definitely makes me feel much better. And can’t wait to run with you either! Let the training begin!

  2. YES! Super exciting. The WDW Marathon is AMAZING and I can’t wait to run again next year! You will LOVE it. Hope to see you there! πŸ˜€

    I’d say the #1 thing you learn from a first marathon experience is how to improve for the next one, right? Being in pain sucks, but now you have a solid plan for helping to build up enough strength to make the next race go smoothly. If it makes you feel any better, I’m the WORST when it comes to take time to stretch, foam roll, etc., so I’m really trying to be better at that, too. Looking forward to following your training! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Jennifer! I didn’t realize you were running this year as well, hopefully Kathleen and I will be able to see you! And I’m happy to hear I’m not the only one that stinks at stretching! Can’t wait to hear all about your training as well. πŸ™‚

  3. Its amazing how we learn as much as we do from training for our first race. Sounds like you know exactly what you need to work on and how to make adjustments going forward. Running at Disney is such an amazing experience, and it’ll be here in no time!

    • Yes, we definitely do learn so much! I can’t wait to run at Disney, I enjoyed reading about your experience a lot so I can’t wait to experience it for myself!

  4. Pingback: Weekly Recap (Lauren) | Sister to Sister Running Blog

  5. Can’t wait to hear about the challenge. I did Goofy and that was more than enough for me. Do you have a hotel yet? I definitely recommend staying on property unless you are going with a group of friend and rent a car.

    • Yes, the hotels opened up last week for that weekend so we got one at a resort. We had thought about staying off property but heard what a pain it was, so decided it was definitely worth it to stay on property!

Leave a Reply

