TRX Review

2014-03-26-trxsuspensiontrainingbrisbane

On Monday night, I went to my first ever TRX class. I knew it was going to be challenging, but I had NO idea how hard it would actually turn out to be! I thought I was in pretty good shape, but 5 minutes into the class I wanted to quit it was so difficult.

TRX is all about using your bodyweight to perform various different types of exercises. It relies a lot on your core and you also need pretty good arm strength. I have a pretty strong core, but my arm strength is definitely a weakness of mine. So when the first move was to do pushups standing up with the TRX suspension trainer, I knew I was in trouble! I can’t even do a regular pushup without getting on my knees, so I had no idea how to even attempt this! I tried the best I could and the teacher helped me out, but I was definitely struggling lol. There was about 5 other people in the class, and I was the only newbie so I was pretty embarrassed!

The class lasted an hour, and as it went on, I start to feel more comfortable with what I was doing. We did a lot more arm exercises and some planks and then the class was over before I knew it! At the beginning of the class I absolutely hated it and really contemplated leaving, but as it progressed I actually started to like it! Especially at the end when we got to kind of hang with our feet from the straps and do some ab work, that was actually kind of fun!

At the end of the class, the others were very encouraging and told me it would get much easier as long as I kept coming. I definitely will continue to go, unfortunately next week I won’t be able to because I am on vacation in Colorado, but after that I will make it a part of my weekly workout routine.

I’m really happy I took this class because it showed me that it’s always a good idea to step outside your comfort zone. I know by taking TRX I am going to really improve my strength and that even though it might not be the easiest thing in the world for me, it will definitely be worth it. I am going to push myself with taking different types of classes so that I can continue to explore different types of classes. This Friday, I have the day off work because I work on Saturday, so I am going back to the gym for a spinning class which I have never done before! I will let you all know how that goes as well 🙂

And, you still have time to enter to win an Armpocket!

CLICK HERE FOR YOUR CHANCE TO WIN!

Lauren

2 thoughts on “TRX Review

  1. Way to go for taking this class! Umm, yeah, I don’t think I can do it.

  2. Look at you trying new things! Trx sounds really cool! And Oooh spin! Can’t wait to hear how that goes!

Leave a Reply

