My Exciting News!

The past few weeks, I’ve been alluding to some craziness in my life and then some exciting news. Well, finally, I feel like I can share the news—on Monday, I’ll be starting a new job!!

Here’s how it all went down 🙂

Two years ago, I left a job that I completely loved. I had the most amazing coworkers (we were more like family) but after four years, I realized that I was going nowhere professionally if I stuck around. So, I made the decision to leave my first job and go to a job with a new opportunity. It was the hardest decision I’ve ever made professionally (I literally cried everyday during my final two weeks and I made this decision to leave!).

I quickly realized that my new job was not going to be forever. I desperately missed the recreation aspects of my old job. I missed getting to plan special events and taking charge.

My new job became my life. I felt like I had no time to do anything but work 😦

Then last year, running came into my life and I felt like I had something else to focus on besides work. But my job (which sometimes in the summer is 6 days a week with Mondays off… yippy!) always seemed to get in the way of running/races. I had to plan a long run around my work schedule—which isn’t easy when you’re working late nights and then getting up early to beat the heat for that long run. If I wanted to take a quick runcation, it would need to be planned out way far in advance so that way I could make sure that I didn’t have to work. Needless to say, I was getting depressed and I knew I needed to find something else sooner rather than later.

I had a few opportunities come up but nothing that felt right. Then last month, my dream job came up!! I was so excited and I quickly applied for the job and waited until the application deadline finally passed. Once the application deadline passed, I was called a few days later for an interview. Interview #1 went super well (I found out my new boss is also a runner—hello… karma!!) on a Monday and I was called on Wednesday for a second interview. I second interviewed on Thursday (3 days after my first interview) and the next day I was offered the job! I was so excited… I am still on cloud nine!!

While I did get Dopey all cleared (I’ve already spent almost $600 on this registration, I cannot let it go to waste J), I still need to figure out the other 4 half marathons I’m registered for. Luckily I did super super early registration for those races, so if I can do it, I will but if not, I won’t be losing a crazy amount of money.

So if I miss a day or two blogging, sorry, but I’m planning on running/runcationing more once I figure out my schedule!!

Kathleen

8 thoughts on “My Exciting News!

  1. So happy for you. Any job that allows you to do what you love and gives you more time for yourself is always the best bet. So glad to hear it!!! See you in October!

  2. Congrats, great news! Work takes up so much of our lives that it really feels like a huge burden is lifted off when you have a job you enjoy.

  3. CONGRATULATIONS!!! That is so so exciting! I hope you the job is everything you dream it will be 🙂

  4. Congrats on the new job, and way to go getting time off for Dopey cleared already!

    • When I was interviewing, I mentioned the race (my new boss thinks I’m crazy), so when I was offered the job, I was like…umm… remember that race I mentioned at the interview 🙂 So luckily I was able to get that time off and still get paid 🙂

Leave a Reply

