It’s the Final Countdown!

One week from today, I will be flying out to Minnesota for my very first marathon! It is crazy to think the time is almost here, it feels like so long ago that I took the plunge and decided to sign up. Training has been intense, my running has greatly improved, and I am really ready for the challenge ahead of me. There are so many things I am looking forward to, and I thought I would share some of them with you.

1. Seeing one of my best friends, Britt

The last time I saw Britt was here, in December of 2013!

The last time I saw Britt was here, in December of 2013!

It has been over a year since I have seen my friend Britt, so I can’t wait to see her for the marathon. We went to grad school together and worked together in the same department, so we literally used to see each other almost every day! She was the one that asked me last fall if I had any plans to do a marathon, and I told her I thought about it but wasn’t sure if I was ready to commit to anything. She was considering doing one (it will be her first as well), so we decided to do our first marathon together! She lives in Iowa, so we wanted to do one fairly close to both of us, and after researching online we decided that Grandma’s Marathon would be the best one for us. It will be so awesome to see her if only for a few days, and to share this very exciting experience together!

2. Taking in the gorgeous views of Duluth during the run

Grandma-s-Marathon

One of the main reasons why we picked Grandma’s marathon in Duluth to run in was because of the beautiful views that you get to take in during the run. We will be running along Lake Superior and the route is well-known for its scenic views. I am used to running pretty much the same old route and looking at the same old things, so it will be a very nice change of pace in such a beautiful location.

3. Crossing the finish line!

phoenix-marathon

Of course, I am VERY much looking forward to mile 26.2 when I get to cross the finish line! I am sure I will be completely exhausted, but I can’t wait for that feeling I will get knowing I finished my very first marathon. I have been envisioning that moment through all my long training runs that I thought would never end, and speed work sessions where I wanted to give up, so it will be awesome actually crossing it for real!

4. Jumping into Lake Superior at the end

So pretty!!

So pretty!!

It is a tradition at the Grandma’s Marathon to jump into Lake Superior at the end of the marathon. The lake is very cold so it is probably similar to the feeling of going in an ice bath, but I’m sure it will feel great after my long, long run!!

5. Eating after!

47863756

I know we will both be starving after, so I am looking forward to pigging out after the race. I am not sure where we will go or what we will eat, but I am sure we will have LOTS of food!

Lauren

6 thoughts on “It’s the Final Countdown!

  1. It’s so close! Sound slike it will be an amazing time. I love that people jump into the Lake afterward. I look forward to reading the recap 🙂

  2. I can’t wait to hear all about it! Good luck at the big race!

  3. Ah, SO excited for you! There is nothing — NOTHING — like completing your first marathon. 😀

  4. It’s going to be my second marathon and I am crazy excited and crazy terrified!

  5. You’re going to rock it! Can’t way to hear all about it 🙂 Hope you have a blast!

  6. Lb you will do great! And I can’t wait to hear about it:)

Leave a Reply

