Marathon Anxiety

apg_1301386112

I’m a naturally anxious person and I tend to worry about everything. So with the Grandma’s Marathon coming up in less than 3 weeks, I am experiencing an overwhelming amount of anxiety related to the marathon. I find myself thinking about so many things – what if it rains? What if I don’t finish? What if I fall?

anxiety-and-nutrition

It’s my first ever full marathon, so I assume it is natural to have these types of worries. And I’m sure as the marathon date gets even closer, my anxiety will only get worse! But I think the best thing I can do is to prepare myself the best that I can so that I will be able to handle any problems that come my way.

Even though I worry about not finishing, I really think I should be ok. I have been training so hard since January, and already have two 20 mile runs under my belt. The 20 mile runs were anything but easy, (I was exhausted physically and mentally after them), but the marathon is only a 10K more than that so I feel like it is definitely achievable.

Of course, any time I run, there is always a little worry in the back of my head that I will get injured. But I can’t focus on this fear during the marathon, because falls and injuries could happen at any time and there is really nothing you can do to prevent them. I haven’t fallen while running in forever so I’m probably due, but let’s hope it does not happen on my big day! πŸ™‚

hello-my-name-is-anxiety (1)

The weather has been a big concernΒ to me lately. I had never even thought about the possibility of the race getting cancelled due to the weather, but ever since last weekend when the Minneapolis Marathon was cancelled due to flooding, it has been creeping in the back of my mind that this could happen. Thousands of runners were set to participate, and I can’t imagine how devastating it would be to have the race cancelled after all the countless hours spent training and looking forward to the day. Obviously this is an unavoidable event, but it would be so awful. Hopefully this will not have to happen for my marathon, but there could be bad weather like rain on the day of the marathon and I have to be prepared to run in these conditions. I keep thinking about how I will need to pack a variety of clothes so that I am prepared for any kind of weather conditions come race day.

To help relieve my anxiety, I will continue to stick to my training plan and hopefully do some yoga to help relieve my stress (and stretch my tired body out!). I also need to have a more positive attitude about the marathon and more confidence in myself and my training that I will be able to cross the finish line (in 1 piece!) on June 21st.

hey-girl-see-you-at-the-finish-line.jpg

Lauren

16 thoughts on “Marathon Anxiety

  1. I definitely remember how I felt when I was tapering into my first marathon. But don’t worry, I also had to worry about proposing at the end of my first full so just running should be easy right?

    Just remember that you have trained hard and that you are going to make it to the finish, eventually. Also, try (and I know that it can be hard) to not worry about all the stuff that you cannot control, just worry about the running.

    Good luck, I am sure you will do great.

    • Lol, that is true at least i don’t have to worry about that! and yes, I am trying not to worry too much about what I can’t control. But then yesterday at work everyone around me is getting really bad colds and I’m like oh no! stay away from me, I can’t catch that! haha

  2. It’s going to be great! A little nervous energy is totally normal. You are ready for this. You’ve been in all the hard work and now is the time to enjoy it!

  3. You’re going to do great, Lauren! Its completely natural to be nervous and anxious about any major event in your life, especially running your first marathon, but just keep reminding yourself that you have trained and prepared to run this race. I know you’ll do great, and that all your hard work will pay off!

    • Thanks Kathryn! I am trying to control my nerves, I’m sure they will be really strong the day of and before but hopefully I can just enjoy the experience!

  4. Who would ever think that you’d be running a marathon?! You’re totally going to rock it… I just know it!! I wish I was going to be there to cheer you on!! I’ll be watching my phone so closely tracking you the whole time πŸ™‚

  5. Good luck!!!!! You’ll be fine πŸ˜‰

  6. You’ve got this! Good luck.

  7. Pingback: Weekly Recap – Lauren | Sister to Sister Running Blog

  8. It’s natural to have these concerns — running a marathon is HUGE. But you’ve done everything you possibly could to prepare, and you just have to think of the race as your victory lap — you’ve put in the work, now enjoy your achievement! After months and months of training, the marathon almost feels like the easy part, haha. Just soak it all in and savor the moment. You’re going to KILL it! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

