Craziest Race Ever!

images

On April 22, I drank the Kool-Aid.  The RunDisney kind.  I signed up for the race (or races) that I had been thinking about since January  12.  I had three months to talk myself out of it.  Every day, I thought about the races.  Read the blogs.  Looked at the bling.  Read over the training plan.  Looked at the requirements.  So after lots of thought, a good tax return, months to save up the money, I did it.  I signed up for the Dopey Challenge during marathon weekend at Disney World in January 2015!

I'll admit to being a bit "Dopey" for taking on this challenge!

I’ll admit to being a bit “Dopey” for taking on this challenge!

It is probably the most crazy thing I will ever attempt in my running career!  For those of you who are unfamiliar with the Dopey Challenge, it is 48.6 miles in 4 days!  A 5k on Thursday, 10k on Friday, 13.1 miles on Saturday and 26.2 miles on Sunday!  Disney requires a 16 minute per mile pace, so my plan is to walk the 5k, walk the 10k, walk the majority of the half marathon and then do a run/walk combo for the full marathon.

The 28 week training program starts on July 1st.  I am currently registered for 1 half marathon in October but I’d like to get one other half marathon in as well during the training period.  Just trying to figure out a “close” one that I could drive to as well as knock another state off the list 🙂

Am I crazy for doing for my first full marathon at the same time as running 3 races the day before?  Yes, absolutely.  Was it done by others last year?  YES.  Will I be well trained?  Yes.  I know I do not have the current stanima to run a marathon with what works for me with running a half marathon (currently I run about 1-1.5 miles straight, take a 1 minute walking break, and then run 1-1.5 miles again)—so I’ll be adopting the Galloway run-walk method to make it through the races!

Even though the races are in Disney World, unfortunately, I want to finish my races to earn the bling, so I will not be going to the parks or Harry Potter World (Lauren and my mom will be going there… jealous!).  After every race, I’m planning on taking ice baths, relaxing by the pool, moving and taking it very easy in between races.  Lauren is a more serious runner than I am (let’s face it…I’m in it for the bling and the weight loss), so she’ll be doing the marathon only so she can focus on time (sounds like nothing compared to what I’m going to be running!) But I’m so happy that she’ll be down there with me as I attempt this crazy race!  Also, my friend Brandon will also be running the marathon, so it’ll be great to spend some time with him and his wife Mitra as well.

Here is to saving over the next 6 months so I can have a great time at Disney and get everything I want to commemorate my first marathon!

Kathleen

5 thoughts on “Craziest Race Ever!

  1. You’re going to love the Marathon Weekend experience! I’m a bit bummed that we couldn’t make it happen after going for the past two years. My best piece of advice (actually Preston’s) is to keep moving after every race, which is why we went to the parks each day. He was much less sore after Dopey this year than he was after only doing the Marathon in 2013.

  2. You going to have such an amazing time!! I wish I was doing the marathon again next year 🙂

  3. That’s my 2016 goal is to do Dopey! Have a blast and enjoy the training!!

  4. You are insane but it sounds like it will def be a fun runcation for you, laur, you mom and I must of forgot Brandon mentioned he was doing it! Ahh! Can’t wait to see how training goes and the recap 🙂 then you and laur will be my runndisney gurus!

  5. You’ll have a blast! I did the Goody Challenge this year and LOVED the marathon. Well, it was more that I enjoyed the course. 🙂

Leave a Reply

