What’s Next?

logoNow that the Nike Women’s Half Marathon is over, you may be wondering, what is my next race?? As Lauren is preparing for her first full marathon on June 21, my next half marathon is coming up the week prior on June 14 at the Rock N Sole in Milwaukee.

It will be my 6th Half Marathon (wow, it’s so crazy to think I’ll have done 6 half marathons in less than 1 year!) and my 5th state! Milwaukee is a very easy drive from Chicago, so I’m planning on heading up on Friday afternoon, going to the expo, crashing in a hotel and getting to the race line on Saturday morning.

Now that I’ve accomplished my goal of a sub 2:20, I don’t have any real goals for the race. I want to do well as always, but since it’s in June, you don’t know what the weather will be like, so I don’t want to get my hopes up either way. I’d like to go sub 2:20 again, but I won’t be entirely upset if I don’t. My next big running time goal will be sub 2:15, but I’m not sure when I’ll be going for that one in the near future.

As for the rest of the summer, I really don’t have anything lined up. There are a few races I’d like to do in Chicago, but it really depends on my schedule and if I want to venture into the city which is never very fun at all. I’m toying with the idea of running Rock N Roll Chicago again (I really like the medal and the shirt this year), but a half marathon in the middle of July in Chicago is not a fun thing. We lucked out for the most part last year, but I’m not sure if I can handle the humidity again or not.

2015 is already shaping up to be a super fun racing year, but I won’t go into that in this blog post. Let’s just say I’m already signed up for 6 different races and already have at least 2 more in mind… and that’s just getting me thru May 2015 🙂

Kathleen

One thought on “What’s Next?

  1. Now you have to let us know which races for 2015. 🙂

Leave a Reply

