Weekly Recap – Lauren

Weekly Training Log:

Monday, April 28th: Rest

Tuesday, April 29th: 5 miles running, Barre fitness class

Wednesday, April 30th: 7 miles running, 2 fitness classes (Bootcamp and Muscle Works)

Thursday, May 1st: Barre fitness class

Friday, May 2nd: 5.1 miles running

Saturday, May 3rd: 4 miles running

Sunday, May 4th: 16 miles running

Total: 37.1 miles running

I had one day off to rest from the half marathon, and then I was full speed ahead with training for my marathon coming up on June 21st! I was tired on Monday, but not really sore, so it was fairly easy to start running again after DC.

All my training runs went pretty well during the week, and I had my longest run ever on Sunday – 16 miles! I was nervous to say the least, because I have never run that far, and I woke up extra early on Sunday to head out to the trail. I picked a new trail to go on because the park I usually go to is not big enough for the kind of length. So I chose to check out Grant’s Trail in St. Louis County. The trail is 8 miles long, so it was perfect for me for this run! I parked at the start of the trail, ran the 8 miles, then looped back around to finish up the 16 miles. I was tired during the run, but it really wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be! This week, my long run is 18 miles, but I definitely have more confidence now that I have a 16 mile run under my belt.

Ran past some Budweiser Clydesdale's during my run on Grant's Trail!

Ran past some Budweiser Clydesdale’s during my run on Grant’s Trail!

 

My biggest problem during the run (besides getting a blister on my toe, UGH!) was staying hydrated. I run with a 21-ounce water bottle, and while that is sufficient for 13.1 miles, I definitely need something else for my upcoming long runs as I ran out of water pretty quickly on this run (I drank more than usual because it was really hot out as well). I am thinking of getting a hydration backpack from Camelbak, so if anyone has any experience using one, please let me know if you like it!

Lauren

6 thoughts on “Weekly Recap – Lauren

  1. First off, I am so jealous of your path. I really want to run that trail. I love Grant’s Farm. Also, in terms of hydrating for the long runs, I also hydrate A LOT beforehand. I will also go through the first half or so without drinking much, if at all. I found that this allows me to use the water as a help during the second half when I am struggling more. Also with the hydrating I found that if I don’t drink too much during my training runs it makes the races easier when I have plenty to drink on the course.

    Good luck on the upcoming training runs. Not that many more and you will begin to taper, which is always the best part.

    • I actually almost tagged you in that pic on fb with the caption – you might get to run by the white house, but aren’t you jealous of my trail?!? haha!

      and thank you, that is great advice for hydration. I definitely do not drink enough before my runs. Like on Sunday, I woke up pretty early to do my long run so I didn’t drink anything beforehand… bad I know! I will definitely change this on my upcoming runs so I don’t get so thirsty during the runs. And yeah, I figure during the actual marathon it won’t be bad because I will take the water from the stations, but during my training runs I was lost on what I could do for water! lol

      And I can’t wait to taper! I keep telling myself I just have a few more really long runs, then I can finally taper and then the marathon will be here!

  2. Awwww, I love the Budweiser Clydesdale’s and very nice runs!!! You’re fabulous!!! Great running week for ya!! XOXO!!!

  3. kudos to your 16 mile run! how do you like barre? my friend takes it and swears by it.

    • Thanks!! And I really love barre. I’m pretty new to it, but I already feel more flexible and it is a really great all around workout!

Leave a Reply

