Liebster Award Answers (PART 2)

liebster-award

And here are our answers for a few more questions after Jennifer from The Final Forty nominated us for an award! We love reading her blog, so we want to thank her so much for nominating us!

Kathleen’s Answers:

1) What are some of your hobbies (other than running, I mean)?
— This question was asked yesterday, so I won’t repeat it again ☺
2) What do you do for a living?
— Currently, I run banquets at a golf course. It’s a demanding/long job that doesn’t allow for much free time. Add running into the mix and I barely have any time at all to myself ☹
3) When and why did you start blogging?
— Lauren had started her own blog last summer but she would barely update it. I wanted to do a blog as well, but I knew that in order for it to be successful, I would need to update it daily. That’s when I asked Lauren if she would want to do one together. We both run different races, so we have different perspectives and can share about our experiences.
4) What are some of your favorite ways to stay fit (again, other than running)? 
I have really started to enjoy yoga! It’s a great escape from the world and low stress!
5) What would you say is your greatest accomplishment?
It’s still to be determined ☺
6) If you won the lottery tomorrow…what would you spend the money on?
Race-cations!! They are highly addictive!! If I had the money, I would be able to accomplish the 50 state goal a whole lot quicker ☺
7) What’s your favorite song on your running playlist?
Anything by Kelly Clarkson—she is my favorite!
8) What’s your biggest pet peeve?
My biggest running pet peeve is when people start walking at the beginning of the race and right in the middle of the road! AHH!! If you’re going to walk across the start line, then go to the back of the corral or the race.
9) What has been your favorite race experience thus far?

My first half marathon will always hold a special place in my heart! It was a very tough race since I was injured, but crossing the finish line and knowing I accomplished my first half marathon has been my favorite experience so far!

10) What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever received?
Don’t give up! Don’t take no for an answer!

Lauren’s Answers:

1) What are some of your hobbies (other than running, I mean)?
Some of my hobbies other than running are watching sports, hanging out with my pup Lilli, hanging out with my friends, watching movies, and trying to cook! I also love to read!
2) What do you do for a living?
I work at a library! I got my Bachelors and Masters degree in a very different field, but I really have enjoyed working at the library and all the crazy things that happen there. Every day is a new adventure…to say the least 🙂
I want to continue working at the library, but would also one day like to work in a field related to fitness maybe being a group fitness instructor or personal trainer on the side. I’m looking into it because I enjoy exercise so much, so if anyone has any advice or experience please let me know 🙂
3) When and why did you start blogging?
At the beginning of this year Kathleen and I started the blog. It was Kathleen’s idea and I’m happy I decided to listen to her (for once)!
4) What are some of your favorite ways to stay fit (again, other than running)? :)
Group fitness classes, Jillian Michaels DVDs, and golfing. I have been attending lots of group fitness classes lately and I have really enjoyed them! But my favorite type of fitness besides running would be Jillian Michaels DVDs. She really has amazing workouts and they usually are only 30-45 minutes. I also have golfed ever since I was a child and still really love to play, even though I don’t get out there as much as I would like.
5) What would you say is your greatest accomplishment?
Graduating grad school, it is a cool thing to say that I have a Master’s Degree (it kind of sucks that I don’t really use it…but maybe one day 🙂 )
 
6) If you won the lottery tomorrow…what would you spend the money on?
I would love to go on a vacation, probably some place with a beach so I could relax for awhile. I would also love to buy a house with a fenced in back yard so that Lilli would be able to play outside all day!
7) What’s your favorite song on your running playlist?
“Young Forever” and “On to the Next One” by Jay-Z. They’re old, but I can’t get enough of them and I occasionally (err…always) bust out rapping to them while I am running!
8) What’s your biggest pet peeve?
People that are late. Unless they have a valid reason, I just think it’s rude and selfish.
9) What has been your favorite race experience thus far?
The Nike Half Marathon! It is my most recent, but how can you top a mini-vacation and a Tiffany’s necklace?!
 
10) What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever received?
There isn’t one single piece of advice that stands out, but both my parents are always very supportive of me and always encourage me to keep trying my hardest even when things are tough or are not going my way.
3 thoughts on “Liebster Award Answers (PART 2)

  1. Kathleen- I’m glad that you’re liking yoga! I know the classes kept getting cancelled for awhile so it’s good to hear that didn’t stop you from going!

    And Lauren- I can totally see you as a fitness instructor! Def look into barre- I know they’re always looking! But I know those locations aren’t that close to your place 😦

    And you will use your degrees! Sports and fitness are kinda related right? Lol

  2. Love this! It was a lot of fun reading your responses! 🙂

    Kathleen: I know what you mean about race-cations. SO ADDICTING! And It’s great that you’re getting into yoga! I tried a few classes several years ago, and I really would like to give it another shot.

    Lauren: We have the same pet peeve. I can’t stand it when people are chronologically late! It would be awesome to be able to blend your love of fitness into a job on the side; I’ve thought of doing the same thing!

Leave a Reply

