NWHM Blogger Brunch and Saturday Fun!

Saturday in DC started with a visit to the National Zoo to visit the pandas! Phu really wanted to see Bao Bao (the newest panda) and we were on a mission to find him! Luckily we found him in no time, and his mom and dad too.

Pandas!

Panda!

24

After we visited the zoo, it was around 11 am, so we decided to head to the bloggers brunch which was starting at noon. We took the metro partway there and then walked the rest of the way. It was a long walk but the weather was great, so it worked out well.

Lauren had gotten an invite to the unofficial Nike Women’s Half Marathon Blogger’s brunch a few weeks prior and asked me if I wanted to go. Since our blog is new, we can use any exposure we can get!! And what a great first event to go to!

Our program for the brunch

Our program for the brunch

The blog was hosted by Stephanie (Cat Lady Runs) and Roaen (Love, Life, Logistics) . They did an amazing job!! There were about 20 bloggers in total at the event—so not too many but not so crazy that I felt like we didn’t get to meet everyone.

Stephanie and Roaen made each blogger a gift bag that was filled with goodies (I am so addicted to the Honest Tea Soda—I’m going to be ordering some online soon!!)….

The super cute goody bags!

The super cute goody bags!

All the wonderful goodies in the goody bag :)

All the wonderful goodies in the goody bag 🙂

After eating, we each got a number and the raffles began. I was very fortunate to be picked 3rd the first round and scored my first Apera bag! I’ve seen so many reviews/giveaways of the bag and I’m so excited to start using it! I also scored a headband with some clips to keep it in place, so I’ll see how it works in the future.

My Apera Bag!

My Apera Bag! (Lauren is very jealous!)

Stephanie and Roaen completely spoiled us with the Bloggers Brunch! I’m hoping that we’ll see the ladies at the brunch at races in the future!

By the way, here is what we ate at the restaurant! Lauren had the chicken Caesar salad and I had the burger and fries (Lauren said the salad was nothing special and I’d have to agree about the burger as well).

My burger and fries from Sequoia

My burger and fries from Sequoia

Lauren's chicken Caesar salad

Lauren’s chicken Caesar salad

After the brunch, which ended around 3 pm (problems with paying the bills), we decided that unfortunately we were not going to have time or the energy to go to the Holocaust museum which we had originally planned to go to. I could not get advance tickets like we wanted to (long story—but if anyone is in Washington DC on June 24th let me know and I’ll give them to you!), so we just decided since we were close to the hotel, we’d just head back.

But we did make one stop on the way back….

Sprinkles Strawberry Cupcake

Sprinkles Strawberry Cupcake

We stopped at Sprinkles cupcakes for an afternoon cupcake snack! I’ve been to Sprinkles before in Chicago, so it was nothing new, but I love a good strawberry cupcake and they had it on the menu for the day so I was sold 🙂

After resting and changing at the hotel, we headed out to dinner with one of my high school friends, Kathryn (http://dancingtorunning.com/). I hadn’t seen Kathryn in quite a few years so it was nice to catch up, meet her husband, talk Disney races (her and her husband love them!), and talk running in general. She had a big PR at her 5k that morning, so she was especially excited to talk about running 🙂

Kathryn and me at dinner

Kathryn and me at dinner

Tune in tomorrow for our recap about the race… PRs for both of us!!

Kathleen

10 thoughts on “NWHM Blogger Brunch and Saturday Fun!

  1. I’m so jealous you got to see bao bao! When we were there Sunday afternoon she was chillin in a tree and we couldn’t really make much of her out!

    It was so good to meet you at brunch! Enjoy your bag- you’ll love it!

  2. You guys had a full day! Sadly, I still haven’t been to the zoo to see Bao Bao yet. I’m hoping to remedy that soon 🙂

  3. See bao bao was def a good choice to do on the trip! When we do this race again we shall do more things in dc rather than Georgetown (except packet pick up and whatnot lol)

  4. … jealous too of Bao Bao, and while I’m glad I got to meet all of you ladies, it seems the general consensus is that Sequoia’s food was not all that spectacular!

    • Yeah, my friend whom i met up with on Saturday night said she’s never been to Sequoia but she has not heard good things. Yikes!! Luckily it was very easy to find though 🙂

  5. It was so great to see you and Lauren at dinner last Saturday! I can’t wait to read your race recaps!

  6. That brunch looks like fun! I also have an Apera bag and LOVE it. Can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

Leave a Reply

