One More Day of Work Until DC!

1 more work day and we’re off!

This time tomorrow, we’ll all be on our way to either the airport, in the air or finally on land in Washington, DC to enjoy our Nike Women’s Half Marathon weekend!

So to say we are all excited (it’s not only Lauren and I, but Lauren’s friend Phu is also running in the race and experiencing the sister fun weekend :)) is an understatement. During last year’s Nike Women’s Half Marathon in Washington DC, I was still a fairly new runner. I had done 2 8ks and was preparing for my first 10 miler run. The swag looked amazing, but I really didn’t think anything of it.

When Lauren and I made the decision to enter the lottery for the race, I only had 2 half marathons under my belt and had yet to travel farther than St. Louis for a big run. Fast forward and I’ve run 4 half marathons and I’ve done the racecation already too. We’ve been super excited since we got in and it’s all I’ve been thinking about lately! This week, work has really been crazy, so everyday I think, I’m one more day closer to DC!

So what is the plan for when we’re in DC… here are some of the things we’ll be up to:

-Hitting up Nike Georgetown for Official Nike Women’s Half Marathon Gear:
o Unlike Lauren, I am taking my chances to get the merchandise at the store when we get t want to order something and then have to worry about returning it.

-Go to the Expotique:
o This is where we will get our bibs, corral assignments, and the participant tech shirt.but instead focuses on the women.. there will be makeup, hair, and other girly things. My friend Brandon is joining us.. so it should be an experience for him!

-Go to DC Cupcakes:
o It take much convincing that we should go there. Lauren could care less about fancy cupcakes but I love them!

-Visit the National Zoo:
o This was Phu’s only request of the trip. She wanted to go to the National Zoo to see the pandas. She could care less about any of the other animals, but she really wants to see the pandas. I think she is hoping to catch a glimpse of Bao Bao!

-Visit the Holocaust Museum:
o Lauren and Phu have never been and it was a special request by Lauren. I went my last time I was in Washington, DC and it was an incredibly moving experience.

-Go to Shake Shack after the race:
o I ate at Shake Shack in NYC and I thought it was amazing! Needless to say, burgers and shakes are the best things to eat after burning 1500+ calories, so I think we’ll have earned it 🙂

-Visit with DC Friends!
o I actually know quite a few people who live in Washington DC!

-We will be having dinner with Kathryn (dancingtorunning.com) while we are in town. Kathryn was one of my friends in high school and jumped into the running scene last year and completed her first half marathon this past January in Disney World!

-We will be spending time with lots of my Circle K friends (Circle K is a collegiate service organization). From dinners to lunches, I’m looking forward to seeing my friends whom I haven’t seen in awhile!!

-We will also be going to a blogger luncheon on Saturday. We are quite excited about that one!! I need to work on our business cards tomorrow…haha

We’ll try and post some pictures tomorrow… otherwise, we’ll be back on Monday with a full week of DC madness (weekly recaps x2, expo/merchandise review, and race reviews x2)!

Kathleen

11 thoughts on “One More Day of Work Until DC!

  1. Can’t wait to see you all tomorrow!!!

  2. ahh so excited but i have so much to do still before we head to the airport tomorrow! once we’re heading to ohare i’ll be more relieved lol and i didn’t order anything online yet either, i think nike fits funny on me so maybe after seeing the merchandise i might order more online. and yes, only care about the pandas bc i can’t see those at ANY zoo! only a few! lol and i’m really excited you wanted to go to DC cupcakes too!

  3. Sounds like such a fun time! I really wanted to see the National Zoo when I was there for the RnR USA, but we didn’t have time to make it over there.

    I know you guys will be busy, but just wanted you to know I nominated you for a Liebster Award! If you’re interested in participating, all the info is here! 🙂 http://thefinalforty.com/liebster-award 🙂

    • Thanks Jennifer!! We will fill out the questions for sure!! All we’re going to do at the zoo is go to the panda exhibit…hahaha. Then we’re out of there!!

  4. Ohhh you have some wonderful plans!!!! Fantastic!!! Yum, cupcakes, OH YEAH!!!! 🙂 🙂 Yay, it’s almost here! How exciting!!

    • We are SO EXCITED!! I really want to do well, so sadly i won’t be taking any pictures probably during the race :(. But I’ve been to DC 3 times before this, so it’s nothing new… but I still get excited seeing the White House, Capital and everything else, just like I get excited seeing the skyline of Chicago everytime I go into the city 🙂

  5. Can’t wait to see you guys! And I completely agree with you, Kathleen, DC Cupcakes is totally worth it! 🙂

    • I’m super pumped about DC cupcakes. They have a cherry blossom cupcake out right now that I think I’ll try.. b/c my favorite kind of cupcake Strawberry Shortcake is only offered on Sundays and I don’t think we’ll make it there on Sunday 😦

Leave a Reply

