We’re Running DC!

This will be my last post before DC, so I figured I would talk more about DC in case I haven’t expressed my excitement about the race enough already….

But really, I have been looking forward to this race for months. I’m sorry if I have been annoying at all with all my posts on the race. But I have been training the hardest I ever have in my life, and I’m just so happy that it is finally here! This is the first time I have traveled for a race, not including Chicago (which I don’t really consider traveling since it is fairly close and I go there frequently). And it is Nike, the ultimate sports brand in my opinion. And ok….the Tiffany’s necklace at the end doesn’t hurt either.

We will be flying in Friday morning and will be going to the Nike Half Marathon Expotique after we meet up with each other at the airport (Kathleen and my friend Phu are flying in from Chicago, I am flying in from St. Louis). The packet pickup is located at the Expotique, but everything else there is not like your normal race expo. There is nothing for sale but it has everything that most women would love – makeup stations, hair makeovers, massages, free samples of beauty products, etc! I read a bunch of reviews about the Expotique from last year, and if this year’s is anything like that, then I cannot wait!

After exploring the Expotique, we will head to the Nike Georgetown store where we will buy some merchandise to remember the race from. I bought the sweatshirt pictured below online already, because I was afraid they would not have my size when we got there and I really liked it! I’m also hoping to get a water bottle with the Nike Half logo on it, a tank top with the logo, and possibly some shorts. I’m sure I will want to get other things too, but I can’t spend too much money on merchandise because we also have to pay for all the meals, and I’m sure other things, while we are there!

20140422-215922.jpg

I believe that Kathleen will be touching upon some of the other things that we will be doing in DC, so I will save that for her post tomorrow.

My main goal for the race is to PR, just like it is in every race. I’m a little worried that it might be hard to achieve this goal, just because I had a really strong time in my last half-marathon, and frankly, it will be hard for me to beat. I’ve been having some great times lately, but I am worried that I won’t be able to sustain that pace for all 13.1 miles, especially when I am unfamiliar with the course. But even if I can do 1 second better, I would be satisfied.

My ultimate goal is to have a time under 2 hours. After looking at a pace chart, this will be challenging. I will have to maintain an average pace of 9:09/mile which would give me 1:59:57 half marathon time. I know that I am capable of doing this, but we will just have to wait and see if it will happen on Sunday.

I am also excited about this race finally being here, because come Sunday afternoon, I will transition to training for my first ever marathon that is coming up in June. For the past few months, I have been using the intermediate training plan that Nike put out specifically for this race. Thisย training plan worked out very well with the marathon training plan I will be using, and it will be an easy transition from this plan to the next (the Sunday of this half I was scheduled for a 14 mile run on the marathon plan, and next Sunday it will be a 16 mile run). It’s crazy to think that my training is only going to get more intense from here on out, but I am definitely anxious and looking forward to the challenge that the next few months will present me!

Lauren

13 thoughts on “We’re Running DC!

  1. Have an amazing time! I can’t wait to hear about it!!

  2. Can’t wait to read about this! I would LOVE to do this race, it looks like such a blast. Have an amazing time! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Yay, you’re going to have THE BEST time!!! GO! GO! GO!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ XOXO!!

  4. good luck and cant wait to meet you this weekend!

    • thank you Roaen! Good luck to you as well and I can’t wait to meet you at the brunch on Saturday ๐Ÿ™‚ we are really excited for it!

  5. Ahhh omg I can’t believe it’s almost here! Can’t wait to see you again ๐Ÿ™‚

    And I didn’t know you got that sweatshirt! Nice! I’ll buy something soon but at the moment I really want like finishers appeal! And of this week week my credit care company was like hey we upped your limit! I was like you knew I was traveling huh… Lol

  6. Great idea to purchase the sweatshirt in advance. I’m often worried that I won’t find merchandise that I’ll like, or if I do that it won’t be available in my size. Can’t wait to see you guys Saturday night!

    • Yeah I heard last year that a lot of sizes were out by the time people got to the Georgetown Nike, so I didn’t want that to happen for something that on really wanted! And can’t wait to see you on Saturday for dinner!!!

Leave a Reply

