Nike Half Marathon Wk 6 Recap

Monday, March 10th – Rest

Tuesday, March 11th – 8 Mile Run Outside

Wednesday, March 12th – 6 Mile Run Inside

Thursday, March 13th – 3 Mile Run Inside

Friday, March 14th – Rest

Saturday, March 15th – St. Patrick’s Day 5 Mile Race

Sunday, March 16th – 12 Mile Run Inside

Total : 34 miles

This was a pretty solid training week for me. It started off rough though with the 8 mile run on Tuesday. This run was supposed to start off with a 1 mile warm-up run, then the next 6 miles I was supposed to do fartleks- 4 minutes at a fast pace, 1 minute at a slower pace, and then end with a 1 mile light cool-down. I was doing the fartleks for about 3 miles and then I just got so exhausted! I wanted to keep going but after a while I realized I wasn’t even doing the four minute part at a fast pace because I was so tired, and figured it would be better to just finish the rest of the miles at a steady pace. I was disappointed with myself that I couldn’t follow the exact plan for the day, but sometimes it just doesn’t work out like you want it to. At least I got all 8 miles in!

My runs on Wednesday and Thursday were done inside. Wednesday was still chilly and windy out and then on Thursday it was just convenient to go to the gym after work and get an easy 3 miles in on the treadmill. Then on Saturday, I obviously went outside for the 5 mile race, and it turned out to be a beautiful spring-like day.

On Sunday, I wanted so badly to run my 12 miles outside. But unlike Saturday, Sunday felt like anything but Spring! We had 30 degree temperatures, sleet, and snow pretty much all day so I knew I had to go to the indoor track for my run 😦 Yes, that meant that I had to go in circles for 132 laps!! Not fun at all, but I got it done so that’s all that matters in the end.

This week I am taking it a bit easier because I have my first half marathon of the year coming up on Sunday – Relay and Run for 21. I will still do the majority of the runs as my Nike Half Marathon schedule has laid out for me, but I don’t want to exhaust my body too much that I won’t be able to have a solid time on Sunday.

I am really looking forward to the race on Sunday, and I will talk more about it in my blog on Thursday. Honestly, I have been so caught up with my Nike Half Marathon training that I haven’t been focusing as much on this half and it kind of caught me by surprise that it is happening so quickly! Nevertheless, I am excited for the half on Sunday, and am hoping to have a new half-marathon PR!

Lauren

4 thoughts on “Nike Half Marathon Wk 6 Recap

  1. I can’t wait to hear about your half!! You’re going to do so good!! I love your confidence!! That’s awesome! 😉

  2. You got in a solid week of training! Awesome job! And 12 miles inside takes some insane dedication! 132 laps?! Yikes!!?! Did you get dizzy?!? LOL (My worst winter training experience was 20 miles on the treadmill, at a Golds gym, during an insane snow storm, NEVER again!) You rock! 🙂

    • Yes, I get so dizzy!! And wow, I could NEVER do 20 miles on the treadmill! I get bored out of my mind after 5! Thats amazing that you did that!!

Leave a Reply

