Running Goodies Delivered to Your Door…What Could Be Better?

A few months ago, I came across an ad online for a monthly service – Runner’s Box. I had never heard of this before, so I went to their website and found out what it was all about. I discovered that it’s a bi-monthly service that delivers samples of products every runner would love to try, straight to your door. I was intrigued by this service because I love getting stuff in the mail, and I was also curious to try new products before shelling out money to buy the actual product. Runner’s Box seemed like an awesome service, however; the price seemed a bit too much ($20), but truly it’s because I’m greedy and wanted something every month, not just every other month!

So, I figured I would search further because there was bound to be more services out there like this. And there was, many in fact. I browsed through a bunch, read a lot of reviews, and decided I would try out Stridebox. They have a monthly delivery service for $15/month. This seemed like a reasonable deal, and the reviews seemed for the most part positive. I also read a rumor that they might be getting compression socks in a future box soon, and I thought that would be a really great deal if I could get a pair of those!

My first box came in December, and it was filled with mostly nutritional stuff like drink mixes and protein bars. There were quite a few of the bars that I really liked, especially one of the chocolate protein bars from Elisabeth Hasselback’s gluten free line. They also put cute stickers related to running in the boxes which was a nice touch. There were a few too many of the drink mixes – I think one or two coconut water mixes, which is nice, but I can’t really stand coconut water so I ended up throwing those away. Also, there was some GU gels in the box which a lot of people enjoy, but I am not a fan. Overall, I enjoyed my first StrideBox and was happy with my choice of service. The next month, the box came again and it had similar contents of the first box (more coconut drink mixes -AHH!)

This month, though, I did not have such a great experience. I got the email that my box had shipped, and then a few days later an email from the company followed saying that it would take longer than usual to receive the box. Apparently they had chosen a different delivery system in order to cut costs without making us pay more for the box. And then (after some stressful complications that I won’t get into!) my box arrived at least two weeks after that email. I was disappointed with this because I understand they are trying to save money, but it seemed like an overly long amount of time to receive the box. Once I did get the box, I liked about half of the contents, but wasn’t sure if it was worth the wait to keep ordering it every month. So because of all of this, I decided to cancel my subscription.

As for now, I am trying to figure out if I want to get a subscription to a different box, or just stop all together. I’m not sure if I get more excitement out of the actual products in the box, or just the surprise of what will be in the box every month. I’m guessing I like the surprise more, and I’m not sure that’s worth spending money on every month!

Are there any running-related boxes that you have delivered to your house every month? Any that you are considering purchasing? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Running Goodies Delivered to Your Door…What Could Be Better?

  1. Thanks for sharing this review. I had been thinking about trying Stride Box but perhaps I will wait and see what others your find!

  2. Yeah… I’m so picky, I’d probably throw most of the box away if I ordered it. But for compression socks…it may be worth it….haha

  3. Hmmm, interesting! I feel like $15.00 is a good deal for a subscription service – especially if some compression socks were thrown in!

Leave a Reply

