My Running “Diet”

I read it over and over again. To really see the results from all the hard work you put into exercising, you have to eat well. And, I TRY! I really try my best to eat well, but it seems like I love all the foods that are bad for you! But lately, as I have been exercising more, I have also tried to be much more conscious of what I am consuming. I feel guilty about spending all this time working out, and then eating bad foods. I don’t really follow a strict diet, and there are many days when I eat things that are far from healthy. But I do try to limit these days, and when I do eat something unhealthy, I try not to totally binge on it, but instead eat just a little bit and then grab an apple or another fruit to fill me up.

So, in my mission to eat healthier, I have been scouring the Internet (my favorite is Pinterest) for healthy recipes. Here are some of my favorite things that I have made lately (some have pictures, some don’t – I need to make it a habit to take more pictures of what I make!):

Pesto Pasta with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Asparagus

I’m a pasta lover, so of course I would make this dish. And it was so delicious. It didn’t take that long to make either, which was a plus. I could seriously make this every week it was so good!

Slow Cooker Chicken Fajitas

I love the crock pot! I prepared everything for the fajitas after I ate lunch, put it all in the crockpot, and VOILA! Five hours or so later, it was ready! Really good flavors, and really simple to make.

Healthy Wendy’s Crockpot Turkey Chili

It’s been so cold here that I could literally have chili for dinner everyday. And my favorite chili out there is Wendy’s chili, so I looked online for a healthier recipe. This recipe was really delicious, full of vegetables, and it made A LOT. So we had some for dinner that night, and then froze the rest and have been eating it on these chilly days.

Caramelized Apple Gorgonzola Pizza

The remaining pizza before I put the honey on top. Just looking at this picture makes me hungry!

The remaining pizza before I put the honey on top. Just looking at this picture makes me hungry!

This is my absolute favorite thing I have made lately! It was soooo good, and very easy to make. I followed this recipe, but I don’t have the patience to make my own dough so I just bought a whole wheat pizza crust at the store. It turned out great. I need to make this again very soon!

Tequila Lime Chicken with Avocado Black Bean Salsa

My creation!

My creation!

I love a good chicken recipe and this was definitely one of them. I also don’t mind avocados which are included in this recipe, and they happen to be one of the healthiest foods out there. We grilled the chicken on our George Foreman which always works out great, but I bet it will taste even better in the summer on a real grill!

Makeover Strawberry Cake Recipe

I probably shouldn't go into cake decorating! (P.S. - That's my boyfriend's mountain dew in the background!)

I probably shouldn’t go into cake decorating! (P.S. – To clarify – that’s my boyfriend’s Mountain Dew in the background!)

You have to indulge your sweet tooth every once in awhile! I made this for Valentine’s Day and it was the perfect treat for the day. Mine wasn’t as healthy though, because I just bought the strawberry icing from the store. Just a little bit never hurt, right?

And here are some of my favorite healthy snacks to eat during the day:

-Apples

-Luna Protein Bars (I eat these after my long runs or cross-training. They taste like candy bars. SO delicious!)

-Special K Cereal

-Bananas

-Belvita Morning Bars

-Kashi Bars

-Clif Bars (White Chocolate Macadamia and Blueberry Crisp are my favorites!)

Another thing I think has been very important in my diet is I have totally given up is soda. It’s been since December, and I am happy to be soda free! I used to be a total soda addict. Not a day would go by that I did not have at least two! And then when I decided to limit my soda, I would go for anything with “diet” in the title. Well, then I read the book “Skinny Bitch” and my outlook on diet soda changed completely. Basically, I found out that Aspartame (one of the main ingredients in diet soda) is the devil, and now I will not consume anything with that in it!

For a short time after I swore off diet soda, I would allow myself to have a regular soda every once in a while. I would have one only was only when I was slumping and thought I needed some caffeine to get me through the day. But, then I would drink a soda and get a serious case of the shakes, and this was when I realized I needed to cut this habit out completely. I don’t need caffeine to stay alert and I found out that exercise wakes me up better than caffeine ever has. So I am now soda free and really feel much butter overall! I primarily drink water, and sometimes I will drink Gatorade after runs. I don’t even really crave soda at all, and this is amazing coming from a person previously addicted to it.

Please feel free to share your favorite healthy recipes or tips in the comments below. I would love to hear from all of you 🙂

 

Lauren

4 thoughts on “My Running “Diet”

  1. These are great recipes! The pizza one looks fabulous! I’m a vegetarian so I get a lot of my recipes from the Trader Joe’s Vegetarian cookbook I picked up. Has a lot of great meals!

  2. love this post! def going to have to try some of this out!

Leave a Reply

