Shamrock Shuffle

shamrock2

Today I signed up for my favorite Chicago race… The Shamrock Shuffle! The Shamrock Shuffle is an 8K held exclusively through the streets of downtown Chicago on Sunday, March 30th.  There is no lake front running, or turning around halfway through, or narrow paths to compete with like you normally get with Chicago races.

The Shamrock Shuffle is put on by the Bank of America and features 40,000 runners!  It is their kick-off to the running season in Chicago and puts people in the mood for the ultimate goal of the Chicago Marathon in October (that is also put on by the Bank of America).  While I won’t be signing up for the Chicago Marathon this year, maybe someday in the future I will! 

shamrock1

Another great thing about the Shamrock Shuffle is the expo!  The Shamrock Shuffle 2013 was my first race expo and is still the best expo I’ve ever been to!  It was at this expo that I was able to sign up for the Big 10 10k and the Solider Field 10 miler last year (scored some great discounts by doing so).  While I don’t have any plans of signing up for any other races at this year’s expo, we’ll have to wait and see.  In addition, the Shamrock shuffle has AWESOME official merchandise.  While it was a little pricey, last year, I got an awesome pullover that I still wear all the time.  I cannot spend too much this year because I want to save as much money as I can for Nike DC at the end of April which will also probably have lots of amazing merchandise that I’ll want to purchase 🙂

While there is no medal for the race (if you know me at all, you know I’m totally motivated by medals… hello… that’s why I’m pretty sure I’m going to do the Disney Dopey Challenge…), but the technical shirt is great!  Last year it was the signature Irish color and had Celtic symbols on it. 

If you’re looking for a fun race that isn’t a 5k but isn’t quite a 10k, look no further than the friendly distance of an 8k or 5 miles.  And if you’re in Chicago, there is no better one to sign up for than the Shamrock Shuffle!

Kathleen

6 thoughts on “Shamrock Shuffle

  1. Love this!! Sounds like so much fun! I’m doing the Shamrock half marathon in Virginia Beach, VA mid march!!

  2. Looks like a blast. I would love to do it but I think I will be out of town 😦 Have fun!

  3. i’m so happy to hear your review on this race! i thought about signing up but i’m going to see lauren that weekend! so next year. lol but the expo sounds awesome! the only expo i’ve gone to that i wish i had more time to look at was the hot chocolate one! normally most races i’ve done the packet pick up is meh… just at a sport store, nothing for me to look at.

  4. Yeah, I’m saving the money for Nike!! Don’t want to miss out on anything 🙂

  5. omg i’m sure i’ll go crazy at the nike expo! i’m def excited for that one!

Leave a Reply

