Nike Half Marathon Training Week 2

I am now on Week 2 (of 12) of training for the Nike Half Marathon coming up on April 27th. During my first week of training, I logged 28.83 miles. I was only supposed to run 25 miles, but I had the extra 3.83 because of the race on Saturday. I think the first week went really well. I am trying to maintain a below 10-minute per mile pace, and I was able to achieve that this week. Even my long run on Sunday felt great and I was able to maintain a 9:32/mile pace for the whole 8 miles! I think my strength training is helping me immensely, because I really don’t feel that sore or as tired as I used to during my runs or after my runs.

This week, I have to run a total of 31 miles and run 6 out of 7 days. This is going to be a fun (ha!) challenge for me, because this means that on Friday I will have to wake up extra early to get my 4 mile run in as well as my Jillian Michaels Body Revolution DVD before I have to be at work at 9:30. I know a lot of people wake up every day at around 5AM to get their run in, but my work schedule varies every day, so usually the earliest I would have to go is 8:30. But I need to realize that it’s only one day that I have to wake up earlier, and that it will all be worth it in the long run when I cross the finish line in DC!

I will also probably have to do the majority of my training runs this week on the indoor track or treadmill. The temperatures are still very cold and there is still a lot of snow on the ground, so it’s just not that possible to do my runs outside. When I have to go inside, I run anything over 4 miles on the indoor track just because I get SO bored on the treadmill! The indoor track has its faults too (like people walking in the running lane, urgh!), but it always seems to go faster when I am actually moving somewhere as opposed to basically running in place on the treadmill.

Finally, I have an URGENT question for all you runners out there! What do you do to prevent blisters? Do you wear special socks? If so, what brand? After my 8 mile run on Sunday, I got a huge blister on my toe. I got some special blister band-aids to help it heal, but I don’t want this to happen again in the future. So if you have any suggestions on how to prevent these pesky things, I would greatly appreciate it πŸ™‚

Lauren

9 thoughts on “Nike Half Marathon Training Week 2

  1. Great job!! I’m training for a half-marathon, too (mid March) so keep running hard and I know you’ll do great!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I love your positive attitude!!

  2. Great job with your training! I am a huge fan of Experia socks. I haven’t gotten a single blister since I started wearing them.

  3. Lauren, I have, admittedly, never found a secret to not get blisters, although I have found that my feet do not blister nearly as much when I wear a thin low rise athletic sock (I wear mostly Under Armour and Adidas). I also will get blisters more frequently during the first 50 miles or so of a pair of shoes but after those initial miles the blisters seem to not occur as often.

    • Hey Brandon! Thanks for the comment! These are relatively new shoes ( I have about 25 miles on them), so I was wondering if that could be why. I was also wearing thicker socks made for cold weather running on that day, so maybe I need to try out some thinner ones.

      • I think that you should keep the socks for now, use some band-aids and see if they stop after another 30 miles or so on the shoes. I just started a new pair also and have gotten blisters as well. Even on short runs I can feel the blisters starting with new shoes.

  4. k that will work! I haven’t gotten a new one since I got this one, so I will just keep using my band-aids and hope I don’t get another one anytime soon πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

