Cross Training / Winter Blues

This week I was able to stick to my training program pretty well.  Of course, all of my runs were done on the dreadmill because it is far too dangerous to be running outside.  This week, we got at least another 3 inches of snow on top of the already 10+ inches that is still on the ground.  I don’t know if I’ll ever see the grass again here or be able to run completely fearless on the sidewalks without being nervous that the “wet pavement” might actually be ice.  And, dodging cars in the neighborhood is not always exactly the safest thing!  

One thing I continue to not be very good at is cross training.  I haven’t quite found anything that really excites me in cross training.  I thought about Zumba, I took a kettlebell class, but nothing really excites me.  It is my mission this week to go to Target and get some sort of exercise video to do at home.  Since I work usually 50+ hours a week and have a 5-year-old shih tzu who thinks I walk on water, I hate being gone from home more than I have to be.  But I, firsthand, know how important cross training is.  Not stretching or cross training is what led me to physical therapy for a month after “running” my first half marathon.  I now have become BFFs with my foam roller and stretch out before and after a run, but I know that if I am going to be a better runner, I need to cross train. 

So this week, I didn’t do my cross training (hopefully I’ll have better news to report next week!), but I did complete 3 runs on the treadmill totaling 16 miles — two 4 mile training runs during the week (the highest number I get up to is 5 miles for the training runs… so I’m getting closer and closer to Little Rock!), and my long run of 8 miles on the treadmill. 

A picture of the sidewalk that I usually run down.

A picture of the sidewalk that I usually run down.

 

Here is my dog outside in the snow.. yeah, no idea when we're going to see the grass again.. hopefully it's still there!

Here is my dog outside in the snow.. yeah, no idea when we’re going to see the grass again.. hopefully it’s still there!

Kathleen

13 thoughts on “Cross Training / Winter Blues

  1. Good job on your runs and I hope you find a DVD that appeals to you. Target has a lot of great ones!! I really like Bob Harper’s DVDs! 🙂 Have a fun day!

    • I did Bob Harper’s yoga DVD a few times and it about killed me! haha. but I like feeling like that sometimes because that means it must be working!

      • Yes, I LOVE his yoga DVD!! I do it every now and then for variety!! It feels good to be sore sometimes because you know your working!! 🙂

  2. UGH, I am SO tired of this weather. I miss seeing grass, too. 😦 I know what you mean re: cross-training — once I started running, nothing else seemed “good enough.” But now I know just how important it is to mix it up! You just have to keep trying different activities until you find the one that excites you, and then you’ll at least want to try to squeeze it in!

    • I totally agree Jennifer! I think Kathleen got a DVD that she will be posting about, but I have been doing Jillian Michaels Body Revolution and I am actually excited to do it most days! And the results you see in your body from doing various cross-training activities is worth doing it for as well!

  3. i hope you find something! have you ever heard of blogilates?

    http://www.blogilates.com/

    she has a lot of videos on youtube, but just started to sell some at target! or those tone it up girls? i haven’t use them, so far i’ve been going to pure barre classes, which i do love!

  4. i have watched the show. it’s not good. i normally have it on just for background noise.. its more so about their life and how they run the company more so than what they are doing health-wise.

  5. Zumba all the way! It’s a great workout and lots of fun. If you see a class that you have time to fit in your schedule I will take it with you. I’m taking a yoga class in buffalo grove on Mondays and Thursdays.
    I’ve been amazed with home much you love running. I think the blog is great!

  6. Maybe I’ll have to join you for the classes!! Send me the info 🙂

Leave a Reply

